Strood St Nicholas, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Strood, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Strood St Nicholas, Kent|
Strood St Nicholas Kent
|Hundred||Rochester City; Shamwell|
|Poor Law Union||North Aylesford|
|Registration District||Medway; North Aylesford|
|Parish registers: 1565|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1718|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STROOD (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, partly within the jurisdiction of the city of Rochester, and partly in the hundred of Shamwell, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, ½ a mile NW from Rochester. There is a place of worship for Independents. 
Strood is one of the Medway Towns in the Rochester district of Kent. See Strood Wikipedia which includes places of worship in Strood and Frindsbury.
The parish church of St Nicholas College Yard Strood has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building and refers to the church serving now as the Diocesan Architect's offices.
Other Anglican parishes included: Strood St Mary Vicarage Road now New Testament Church of God. Strood St Mary Vicarage Road has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building.
Places of worship in Strood include:
- St Mary's Church Frindsbury was opened by Bishop Claughton in 1869 now operated by the New Testament Church of God.
- Zoar Chapel High Street Strood 1782 - Protestant dissenters.
- Gospel Mission Evangelical Church, Brompton Lane
- Wesleyan Methodist Jubilee Church, Stone Horse Lane (now Cliffe Road)
- English Martyrs Catholic Church
- St Justus Catholic Church
- Darnley Road Evangelical Church
- St Francis' Anglican Church.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- North Aylesford Registration District
- Strood Registration District
- Strood and Hoo Registration District
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Strood St Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Strood St Nicholas Online Parish Records|
|FS Canterbury PRs||1538-1986||1538-1986||1538-1986|
|FMP East Kent||1538-1754||1813-1841|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
- Images for Strood are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832
Census records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
- Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
- Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent
- Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent
- Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 250-252. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.