To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stretton Baskerville, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


{{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Stretton Baskerville, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Knightlow
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Hinckley
Registration District Hinckley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1743
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Coventry
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STRETTON-BASKERVILLE (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Hinckley, Kirby division of the hundred of Knightlow, N. division of the county of Warwick, 3 miles (E. by S.) from Nuneaton. [1]

STRETTON-BASKERVILLE, a parish in the district of Hinckley, and county of Warwick; 1½ mile W SW of Hinckley r. station. Post town, Nuneaton. The living is a sinecure rectory in the diocese of Worcester.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Stretton Baskerville parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Warwickshire, Parish Registers, 1535-1963 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Warwickshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Warwickshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = Warwickshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Warwickshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
MyH = England, Warwickshire Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (MyHeritage) - ($)
TGEN = Warwickshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Stretton Baskerville Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1535-1963
1535-1963
1535-1963
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1532-2009
1522-2013
1526-2011
FMP Banns

1558-2011


ANC 1 1535-1812
1535-1812
1535-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1754-1910
1813-1910
MyH 1538-1900
1538-1900
1538-1900
TGEN 1538-1920s
1538-1920s
1538-1920s
JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1538-1935
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Information about the parish may be found on Warwickshire Online Parish Clerks. Records are also available at the Warwickshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Hinckley Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  3. Searching Parish Records online (Warwickshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk