Stratford Sub Castle, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Stratford Sub Castle

Guide to Stratford Sub Castle, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stratford Sub Castle, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Underditch
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Alderbury
Registration District Alderbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610; 1624
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Salisbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of the Sub-Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

STRATFORD-UNDER-THE-CASTLE (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Alderbury, hundred of Underditch, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire. One and three-fourths mile (N. W. by W.) from Salisbury; containing, with Old Sarum, which is extra-parochial, and the hamlet of Avon. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stratford Sub Castle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
STRATFORD SUB CASTLE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
FREG
1654-1837

JOIN
1654-1837

NIM 1610-1837
1610-1837
1654-1812
TGEN
1654-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 238-244. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  3. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.