Stratford St John, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Stratford St John, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stratford St John, Essex|
St John's Stratford
|Poor Law Union||West Ham|
|Registration District||West Ham|
|Parish registers: 1834|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1834|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Stratford St John or simply Stratford, is a town, a ward, and three chapelries, in West Ham parish, Essex. The town is on the river Lea, and on the Great Eastern railway, the railway is 4½ miles east of St. Paul's, London; it has a bridge which connects it with Stratford-le-Bow; and has a post-office under London East. There is an Independent chapel,along with Baptist and Wesleyan chapels, as well as a Roman Catholic chapel. The chapelries are St. John, Christchurch, and St. Paul.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Stratford St John, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Stratford St John, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
St John the Evangelist
Burials 1835-1912,1915,1922: ERO
Baptisms 1939- date
Marriages 1960- date: Not deposited
Marriages 1855-1960: ERO
Marriages 1920-1941: ERO
Baptisms 1900-1940: ERO
Records with St. Paul Stratford
Baptisms 1860- date
Marriages 1866- date: Not deposited
Records with St. John's Stratford
St Francis of Assisi
Grove Crescent Rd
Marriages 1805-1853: ERO (copies)
All originals 1770- date: Not deposited
Burials 1845-1854: PRO
Latter Day Saints
All records ?-1918: SLC
West Ham Lane
Marriages 1937-1948 : ERO
Primitive Methodist Chapel
Baptisms 1865-1959: ERO
Wesleyan Methodist Chapel
Marriages 1891-1941: ERO
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Association
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Stratford on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 17 May 2013.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.