Stratfield Saye, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Stratfield Saye, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stratfield Saye, Berkshire|
|Hundred||Mostly Holdshott; Part Reading|
|County||Hampshire and Berkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Basingstoke|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STRATFIELD-SAYE, or Strathfieldsaye (St.Mary), a parish, in the union of Basingstoke, partly in the hundred of Reading, county of Berks, but chiefly in the hundred of Holdshott, Basingstoke and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 7¾ miles (N. E.by N.) from Basingstoke;, with Beechhill tything. Chiefly in the county of Hampshire. Priory located across the border in Berkshire. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Stratfield Saye parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)|
|Stratfield Saye Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 238-244. Date accessed: 06 May 2014.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Stratfield Saye in GENUKI