To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Strandebarm Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Strandebarm, Norway)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Strandebarm, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Strandebarm Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Strandebarm
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Strandebarm
Fogderi Søndhordland
Sorenskriveri Søndhordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Strandebarm clerical district) contains parish registers for Strandebarm clerical district which includes the parishes: Strandebarm, Varaldsøy and Jondal. The years 1680-1689 are missing. Records available from 1670-1941.

Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives). 

Strandebarm: 1670-1935

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1827 Census Varaldsøy This record includes a list of persons in Varaldsøy parish on the 9 Nov 1827, marriages and deaths for 1827. Film 1283410 Item 1.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Næss, Anders and Kolltveit, Olav, Strandebarm og Varaldsøy i gamal og ny tid, Kvam : Utgjeve av Kvam Herad, 1981. A history of Strandebarm and Varaldsøy in Strandebarm clerical district in Hordaland county with a genealogy of the people and their farms. There are 70 corrections in volume two of this new edition. FHL 948.32/S6 H2n 1981 A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.32-S6 H2n V2 Strandebarm og Varaldsøy.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

41 Aase ytre

44 Bakke vestre 53 Berge ytre 66 Birkenes 42 Breievne 58 Brekke ytre 51 Bru nedre 47 Børseim indre

35 Dysvik

59 Engedal

67 Fosse lille 57 Fosse store

37 Gjerde indre 49 Grøning

55 Haabrekke 63 Haukaas lille 62 Haukaas øvre 34 Havn 72 Hjartnes 41 Holmedal

75 Koltveit 77 Kysnes

43 Lambedal 69 Linge lille 76 Ljones 76 Ljonestangen 45 Lødalen

48 Murlehagen

51 Naustbakken 40 Nygaard

39 Oma indre

71 Pintelvik 54 Præstegaarden

48 Rise 68 Røen 71 Røirvik

61 Sjusæter 47 Skarpestykket 56 Skogesel 64 Solbjør 53 Spandsteigen

50 Tangeraas 33 Tegland 60 Toften 65 Tordal 47 Træet 36 Træsnes 51 Tuemyren 73 Tveit indre

74 Ugletveit

36 Viken

52 Øvreholmen

For a larger list of farms, click below, then click again on the next link:

https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/File:948.32-S6_H2n_V2_Strandebarm_og_Varalds%C3%B8y.pdf

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1668-1887: Records are found in Sunnhordaland judicial district.

1695-1852: For those farms, which were under the Rosendal Estate, records are found in Hardanger og Voss judicial district.

1690-1877: Clerical probate records are found in Sunnhordaland Deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names