Stradbroke, Suffolk Genealogy
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Stradbroke and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Stradbroke was in Hoxne district till 1907 at which time it was moved into Hartismere District. In 1907 Hoxne district was abolished. To search an index of Hoxne or Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.
While the district had been created in 1837 for the purpose of recording births, deaths , and marriages, the Hundred had been in existence for hundreds of years for administrative, military, and judicial purposes.The Hoxne Poor Law Union also included the same parishes. The Union Work House was located in Stradbroke.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Stradbroke, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)|
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Stradbroke, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
The Parish Registers begin in 1538. They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office. A copy of the registers from 1538 to 1900 can be purchased from the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are lacking for Stradbroke. See Suffolk Church Record for further details.
Census records[edit | edit source]
There are census records available for Stradbroke from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Stradbroke, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Stradbroke was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.
The Workhouse[edit | edit source]
Stradbroke was where the Hoxne Union Workhouse was located. It was built in 1835. Forcing people into a workhouse instead of outdoor relief caused riots in the years following it being built. In 1851 there were 314 people there.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other things of interest.
- National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
- England Jurisdictions 1851 maps - see parish in context with surrounding parishes also determine various ecclesiastical and civil jurisdictions for this parish
- Stradbroke on Google maps - see lay of the land as it is today
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51312#s1 A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 238-244. Date accessed: 25 September 2014.
- William White, 1844, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk; page 469-472
- 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 18 December 2015.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 238-244. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.