To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stony Stratford, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Stony Stratford, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stony Stratford, Buckinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newport
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Potterspury
Registration District Potterspury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; Separate registers exist for Stony Stratford St Mary Magdalen beginning 1619
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575; Separate records exist for Stony Stratford St Mary Magdalen beginning 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STRATFORD (Stony), a small town and a parish in the district of Potterspury and county of Buckingham.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Stony Stratford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Stony Stratford Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1575-1842
1575-1836
1575-1842
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG

1538-1812


IGI 1672-1713, 1712-1734, 1814-1816




FS Catalog BTs
1575-1781, 1575-1782
1575-1781, 1575-1782
1575-1781, 1575-1782

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The church of Saint Giles was built in the late 15th century, and was entirely rebuilt in 1776 except for the original chapel. The parish registers begin in 1738. St. Giles church still stands. The church of Saint Mary Magdalene is dated to have been built about 1450. It was destroyed by fire in 1742 with only the tower and graveyard still remaining. For more information, see British History Online.

"During the English Civil War in the 1640's, St.Marys Church on the Eastside (Wolverton) was the non-conformist church, and was Cromwellian (Roundhead). St. Giles Church on the Westside (Calverton) was the established church, and was Parliamentarian (Cavalier). Due to having two churches, a great divide occurred between the two churches, and the two parishes, and rivalry and suspicion was evident. In 1689 religious persecutions had ceased with the introduction of the Toleration Act." - Milton Keynes Heritage Association

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Wesleyan Methodist

FamilySearch also has records for an independant church 1822-1837 on microfilms 566021 item 2 and 583981 item 1.

There are also two computer printouts for the independant church, both extracted from microfilm 566021, one available on microfilm 1037052 item 13, and the other on microfiche 6909261 both covering years 1822-1837.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Stony Stratford on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2 Date accessed and adapted 11 July 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk