Stony Middleton, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Stony Middleton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stony Middleton, Derbyshire|
Stoney Middleton St Martin Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Bakewell|
|Parish registers: 1715|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Stoney Middleton, created in 1743 from a chapelry, in the parish of Hathersage, union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 5½ miles (N. by E.) from Bakewell. There is a place of worship for Unitarians. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Stony Middleton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Stony Middleton St Martin (1715) Parish Online Records|
Derbyshire Record Office reference D1455 has deposited parish registers Bap 1715-1878 Marr 1715-1750, 1759-1947 Bur 1715-1862 Banns 1761-1763,1792-1813, 1888-1941
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1856 Mar 1662-1836 Burials 1662-1856
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Stony Middleton on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 310-313. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.