Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire|
St Michael Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Hinckley|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1583|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STANTON-STONEY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Hinckley, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S.division of the county of Leicester, 4¼ miles (E. by N.)from Hinckley. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Stoney Stanton like this:
STANTON-STONEY, a parish, with a village, in Hinckley district, Leicester; 4¼ miles E by N of Hinckley r. station.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Stoney Stanton Bap 1558 - 1970 Marr 1558 – 1987 (Banns to1989) Bur 1558 - 1973
In addition this office holds the following Non-Conformist records:
Stoney Stanton Congregational Church Bap 1901-1969 reference N/C/310/6
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.