Stone County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Stone County
 

Guide to Stone County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Mountain View
Organized: April 21, 1873
Parent County(s): Izard, Independence, Searcy, and Van Buren[1]
Neighboring Counties
Baxter  • Cleburne  • Independence  • Izard  • Searcy  • Van Buren
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasStoneCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-stone.png
Adoption
Blanchard Springs Cave in the Ozark National Forest, Stone County, Arkansas

County Information

Description

The county was named for the natural stone formations in the area. The County Seat is Mountain View and was founded April 21, 1873.[2] It is located in the north central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Stone County Courthouse
HC 71 Box 1427
Mountain View, AR 72560-0427
Phone: 870.269.5550
Stone County Website

County Clerk has marriage and divorce records from 1873;
Clerk Circuit Court has probate, land, military and court records from 1873.[4]

Stone County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1873 1914* 1873 1873 1873 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships
  • Liberty
  • Locust Grove
  • Marcella
  • Northwest (Fifty-Six)
  • Optimus
  • Red River
  • Red Stripe
  • Richwoods
  • Roasting Ear
  • Smart
  • Sylamore
  • Timbo
  • Turkey Creek
  • Union
  • Washington
  • Wilson
Historical townships
  • Red Stripe
  • Shaved Navel


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Stone County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Stone, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 5,089
1890 7,043 38.4%
1900 8,100 15.0%
1910 8,946 10.4%
1920 8,779 −1.9%
1930 7,993 −9.0%
1940 8,603 7.6%
1950 7,662 −10.9%
1960 6,294 −17.9%
1970 6,838 8.6%
1980 9,022 31.9%
1990 9,775 8.3%
2000 11,499 17.6%
2010 12,394 7.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Marion CountyBaxter CountyFulton CountyIzard CountyIndependence CountyCleburne CountyVan Buren CountySearcy CountySharp CountyAR STONE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stone County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Stone County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/stone/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Stone County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stone_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stone County, Arkansas. Page 70 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 67.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Stone County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stone_County,_Arkansas, accessed 1 October 2018.
  8. Stephanie Lawrence Labert, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=811&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Stone County.”
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.