To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stokes County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Stokes County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Danbury
Organized: 1789
Parent County(s): Surry[1]
Neighboring Counties
Forsyth  • Guilford  • Henry (VA)  • Patrick (VA)  • Rockingham  • Surry  • Yadkin
See County Maps
Courthouse
Stokes County Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-stokes.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Stokes County is located in the northwestern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Virginia. It was named for Captain John Stokes, a Revolutionary War officer and a member of the North Carolina House of Commons.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Stokes County Courthouse
Hwy 89
Danbury, NC 27016
Phone: 336-593-2811
Stokes County Website

Register of Deeds has marriage and land records.
Clerk Superior Court has probate records.[3]

Stokes County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1790 1913 1782 1760 1753 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Some early records are missing.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1789 Stokes County was created from Surry County.
  • County seat: Danbury[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Stokes County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Stokes County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Belew's Creek. Constituted 1781.[6]
  • Soapstone Creek. Constituted 1779.[6]

Dunker

  • Fraternity Church of the Brethren, near Clemmons, N.C. Established about 1775.[7] Previously located in Surry and presently situated in Forsyth.

Lutheran

  • Nazareth Church aka Old Dutch Meeting House. Organized about 1778 by German settlers.[8] Previously located in Surry and currently situated in Forsyth.

Moravian

  • Friedberg Church. Begun 1759; organized 1773.[9] Formerly located in Surry and presently situated in Forsyth.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ncstokes.jpg

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Stokes County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Stokes County:

- 2nd Battalion, North Carolina Infantry
- 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company H.[10]
- 23rd Battalion, Virginia Infantry Reserves (Confederate). Company H.[11]
- 2nd Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company A
- 4th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain George F Fisher's Company
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, William H Watt's Company

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Stokes County Historical Society
    PO Box 250
    Germanton, NC 27019
    Website
  • Bassett Historical Center
    3964 Fairystone Park Highway
    Bassett, VA 24055
    Phone: 276-629-9191
    Email: baslib@hotmail.com
    Website
    Resource for family history research in Henry, Patrick, Floyd, Franklin and Pittsylvania counties in Virginia; the city of Martinsville, Virginia; and Rockingham, Stokes and Surry counties in North Carolina.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Sweeney, Alice J. "Bassett Historical Center," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Stokes
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stokes County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. 6.0 6.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:568. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  7. "Fraternity Church of the Brethren," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  8. "Nazareth Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  9. "Friedberg Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  10. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 24 Feb 2015.
  11. J.L. Scott, 23rd Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 79.