To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stoke Newington St Mary, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Stoke Newington St Mary

Guide to Stoke Newington St Mary, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stoke Newington St Mary, Middlesex
Stokenewington.jpg
Stokenewington
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Hackney
Registration District Hackney
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STOKE-NEWINGTON, a metropolitan suburb and a parish in Middlesex. The parish is a sub-district of Hackney district, There are several dissenting chapels.[1]

The Victoria County History of Stoke Newington (1985) is available online. It includes chapters on manors, estates, economic history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, Judaism, education, and charities for the poor.[2]

Additional information:

St Mary Newington is an ancient parish created approximately in the year 1561.

NEWINGTON, STOKE St. Mary, a parish, in the union of Hackney, Finsbury division of the hundred of Ossulstone, County of Middlesex, 3 miles north and east of London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, and Unitarians. Abney-Park public cemetery is also found in this parish with a chapel.[3]

The Abney Park Trust has created a Surname Database of those buried here.[4]

William Robinson, The History and Antiquities of the Parish of Stoke Newington in the County of Middlesex.[5]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Stoke Newington St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Stoke Newington St Mary Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records[edit | edit source]

Records survive for Stoke Newington Manor (1329-1900). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here two excellent tools for aiding England genealogical research:

Websites[edit | edit source]

Stoke Newington on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 26 January 2014.
  2. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 8: Islington, Stoke Newington (1985). History of the County of Middlesex:. Adapted. Date accessed: 26 January 2014.
  3. Samuel Lewis, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), 394-398. Adapted. Date accessed: 26 January 2014.
  4. Rootsweb Rootsweb Freepages Genealogy. Adapted. Date accessed: 26 January 2014.
  5. John Bowyer Nichols and Son. fckLRDigital version at Google Books, 1842. Adapted. Date accessed: 26 January 2014.
  6. ArcherSoftware.co.uk