Stockton upon Tees Holy Trinity, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Stockton upon Tees Holy Trinity, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stockton upon Tees Holy Trinity, Durham|
|Poor Law Union||Stockton|
|Parish registers: 1835|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1838|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STOCKTON-UPON-TEES (Holy Trinity), an incorporated market-town, an inland port, a parish, and the head of a union, in the SW division of Stockton ward, S division of the county of Durham; containing, with the townships of Preston and East Hartburn, 10,071 inhabitants, of whom 9825 are in the town, 20 miles SSE from Durham, and 244 N by W from London. The church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, to which a district containing a population of 4000 persons has been assigned, occupies a site given by Bishop Van Mildert.n of a grant of £600 from the Incorporated Society. The living is a perpetual curacy; net income, £300; patron, the Bishop. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Unitarians, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.
Originally Holy Trinity Stockton on Tees was created as a chapel of ease within the parish of Stockton upon Tees St Thomas in 1837. Later, the chapels of Stockton St James in 1868 and Stockton St John the Baptist in 1872 were added within the town.
Stockton was formerly a chapelry, in the parish of Norton (which also see), from which it was separated by an act of Parliament obtained in 1713. The ancient chapel, supposed to have been erected about the year 1237, was taken down, and the present church was completed in 1712.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Stockton upon Tees Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Stockton upon Tees Holy Trinity Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Stockton upon Tees on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., [ http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51305#s10 A Topographical Dictionary of England], (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.