Stockton, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Stockton

Guide to Stockton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stockton, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elstub and Everley
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Warminster
Registration District Warminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1589
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

STOCKTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Warminster, hundred of Elstub and Everley, Warminster and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 2 miles (W. by N.) from Wily.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stockton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
STOCKTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
JOIN
1590-1812

NIM 1589-1837
1590-1837
1589-1837
TGEN
1590-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.209-215. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  3. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.