To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stockport St Matthew, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Stockport St Matthew, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stockport St Matthew, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockport Borough
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport
Registration District Stockport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1858
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STOCKPORT, a town, a township, a parish, two sub-districts, and a district, in Cheshire. The town stands on the river Mersey at the influx of the Tame, on the North-western railway at a convergence of five branch-lines, it is 5¾ miles SSE of Manchester; it was anciently called Stockfort, Storefort, and Stokeport

Stockport is ecclesiastically cut into the sections of S.-St. Mary, S.-St. Thomas, S.-St. Peter, Bredbury, Disley, Dukinfield, Dukinfield-St. Mark,Dukinfield-St. Matthew', Castle-Hall,High-Lane,Hyde,Hyde-St. Thomas,Marple, Norbury, Portwood,Romiley, Werneth, and Moor. A church district, called St. Matthew, was formed in 1844, and endowed by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners.[1] [2]

For more information see: Stockport.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Stockport St Matthew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Stockport St Matthew Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Stockport has numerous churches and chapels. The principal faiths include: 

Stockport, Our Lady and the Apostles (Roman Catholic), Edgeley Road. Founded 1799, rebuilt in 1905.
Stockport, St. Joseph (Roman Catholic), Tatton Street. Founded 1851, the present church was Built in 1862. Registers of baptisms 1862–1912, marriages 1863–1934 and burials 1862–1905 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Michael (Roman Catholic). Registers of baptisms 1851–1895, marriages 1856–1882 and burials 1863–1866 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Ambrose (Roman Catholic), Adswood Road. Founded 1939.
Stockport, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers), Lower Hillgate. Built in 1705.
Stockport, United Reform Church (Hanover Chapel) (Independent/Congregational). Records of baptisms 1816–1961 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Stockport

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Stockport on GENUKI

Stockport St Matthew on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 8 April 2013
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 8 April 2013
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk