Stockport St Mary, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Stockport St Mary, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stockport St Mary, Cheshire|
Stockport St Mary's
|Poor Law Union||Stockport|
|Parish registers: 1584|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STOCKPORT (St. Mary), a newly-enfranchised borough, a market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester; comprising the chapelries of Disley, Dukinfield, Hyde, Marple, Norbury, and Romiley, and the townships of Bramhall, Bredbury, Brinnington, Etchells, Offerton, Stockport, Torkington, and Werneth. The town derived its name Stokeport, or Stockport.
St Mary's church was mainly re-built in 1817. St Peter's district church was built in 1768. The church dedicated to St Thomas was erected in 1825. A church district, called St Matthew, was formed in 1844. An Independent chapel was built in 1866, for Baptists, Wesleyans, the New Connexion of Methodists, the Society of Friends, Primitive and Warrenite Methodists, Unitarians, and the Roman Catholic chapel was built in 1862.
The parish is ecclesiastically cut into the sections of Stockport-St. Mary, Stockport-St. Thomas, Stockport-St. Peter, Bredbury, Disley, Dukinfield, Dukinfield-St. Mark, Dukinfield-St. Matthew, Castle-Hall, High-Lane, Hyde, Hyde-St. Thomas, Marple, Norbury, Portwood, Romiley, Werneth, and Moor. 
For more information see: Stockport.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Stockport St Mary the Virgin registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|Stockport St Mary the Virgin Parish (1584) Online Records|
Bramhall registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BRAMHALL Chapel Online Records|
Stockport Portwood St Paul registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|STOCKPORT PORTWOOD ST PAUL Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers of St. Mary's Church, Stockport, 1584-1901 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P14/1/2-11, P14/2/1-8, P14/3435/2/1-4, P14/4616/1, P14/3435/1, P14/3/1-17, P14/3435/3/1-24, P14/4616/2-3, P14/4/1-5, P14/3790/1-2, P14/4649/1-6, P14/5/1-8, P14/3435/4/1-2.
|Parish Registers: St. Mary's Church, Stockport||Film|
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1584-1629.
||2146002 Item 3|
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1629-1673.
||2145836 Items 3 - 4|
|Baptisms, burials, 1673-Aug. 1770; marriages, 1673-Mar. 1754.
|Baptisms, burials, June 1770-1791. Baptisms, 1792-Sep. 1817.
|Baptisms, Sep. 1817-Mar. 1835.
|Baptisms, Mar. 1835-June 1877.
|Baptisms, June 1877-Feb. 1890.
||2146002 Items 1 - 2|
|Marriages and banns, Apr. 1754-Sep. 1768.
||2146002 Item 4|
|Marriages and banns, Sep. 1768-Oct. 1776. Marriages, Oct. 1776-Oct. 1800.
|Marriages, Oct. 1800-Feb. 1819.
|Marriages, Feb. 1819-Nov. 1837.
|Marriages, Nov. 1837-July 1846.
|Marriages, July 1846-Oct. 1853.
|Marriages, Oct. 1853-Oct. 1860.
|Marriages, Oct. 1860-Nov. 1868.
|Marriages, Nov. 1868-June 1878.
|Marriages, June 1878-July 1892. Marriage banns, Oct. 1788-June 1793; baptisms, 1847-1849.
|Marriage banns, July 1809-May 1812, Feb. 1816-Nov. 1819 (draft registers). Marriage banns, Jan. 1830-Feb. 1835; Oct. 1887-Nov. 1915.
|Marriage banns, Sep. 1928-Feb. 1955, Feb. 1835-July 1852. Burials, 1792-Dec. 1802.
|Burials, Nov. 1802-Nov. 1830.
|Burials, Oct. 1830-Dec. 1859.
||1941832 Items 1 - 4|
Parish registers for Stockport, 1807-1819 Microfilm copy of original registers housed at the Cheshire Record Office.
|Parish Registers: Stockport||Film|
|v. 1. Marriage banns, December 1807-May 1812. v. 2. Marriage banns, March 1816-November 1819.
||823618 Items 1 - 2|
Parish of St. Mary the Virgin, Stockport, County of Cheshire, U.K. (Macclesfield Hundred): burials, [1584-1913] Microfiche of original published: [S.l.]: North Cheshire Family History Society, 1998.
|Parish Registers: St. Mary the Virgin, Stockport||Film|
|Burials, 1584-1696 (9 fiches)
||Granite Mountain Record Vault 6395296|
|Burials, 1696-1762. (9 fiches)
||Granite Mountain Record Vault 6200573|
|Burials, 1762-1812. (14 fiches)
||Granite Mountain Record Vault 6200574|
|Burials, 1813-1838; part 1, date order. (8 fiches)
||British B2 Access Services 6200575|
|Burials, 1813-1838; part 2, alphabetical listing. (8 fiches)
||British B2 Access Services 6200576|
|Burials, 1838-1913. (7 fiches)
||British B2 Access Services 6200577 |
Bishop's transcripts for Stockport, 1605-1844 Microfilm of manuscripts in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Records are not in strict chronological order. Some years are missing
|Bishops Transcripts: Stockport||Film|
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1605-1682
||1751851 Item 1|
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1812-1815, baptisms, marriages, 1816.
||1751716 Item 2|
|Burials, 1816 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1816-1819
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1819-1822
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1822-1824
|Burials, 1824 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1825-1827
|Burials, 1827 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1828-1830
|Burials, 1830 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1831-1833
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1837, 1839-1840 Baptisms, 1841-1844
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and Stockport
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Stockport St Mary on GENUKI
Stockport on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1870-72) Adapted 9 April 2013
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 9 April 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Cheshire Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.