To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stockport St Augustine, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Stockport St Augustine, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Stockport.-- parl. and mun. bor., manufacturing town, par., and township, Cheshire, on river Mersey, 5 miles SE. of Manchester by rail - par. [1]

For more information see: Stockport.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Stockport St Augustine registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Stockport St Augustine Parish (1893) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1887-1909
  NONE
1897-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Augustine's Church, Stockport, 1887-1950 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P269/1/1-2, P269/2/1-4.

Parish Registers: Stockprot St. Augustine
Film
Baptisms, 1887-1950. Marriages, 1894-1945.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2106218 Items 2 - 7
Marriages, 1945 (from 22 Dec.)-1947.
2106219 Item 1


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Not Known

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Stockport (1837-1930)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Stockport

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Stockport on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles. Date accessed: 24th January 2014.


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch