Stockholm City, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stockholm City)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden Wiki Topics
Sweden Flag.gif
Beginning Research
Record Types
Sweden Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Sweden is MorrisGF and LarsonW
Sweden
Stockholm County
Stockholm City


Guide to Stockholm City ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

How to Do Research in Stockholm City, Sweden

Most of your genealogical research for Stockholm will be in online church records. Methods for locating and reading them are given here.
Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Knowing Your Locality

To search effectively, it will help if you know the farm, parish, and county where your ancestor lived. The Wiki articles Gather Family Information, Tracing Immigrant Origins, and Finding a Place of Origin in Sweden describe many strategies you can use to find this. Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

Featured Content

For many years there have been a number of indexes to certain parish registers in Stockholm city. These registers have been in book form, found within the reading room of the city archive. The indexes are organized alphabetically by surname. Each index has been scanned into a PDF format for online access. Read More...

Parishes

For other denominations and military congregations, see this article.
Click here to see parishes alphabetically or by number.
Stockholm City map.png

Swedish Lutheran Congregations Created Before 1900

Parishes with associated numbers refer to the map above. For parishes with an asterisk (*), see Stockholm County.

Map Number(s): Parish:
3-7, 13 Adolf Fredrik
18-20 Allmänna arbetsinrättningen
9, 11-12 Allmänna institutet å Manilla för dövstumma och blinda
3-5 Allmänna försörjningsinrättningen
16 Allmänna straffängelset
3-7, 13 Barnhus Församlingen
8, 13 Brunkeberg
* Brännkyrka
16 Centralfängelset
9-12 Djurgårdens Landsförsamling
6-7, 14 Domkyrkoförsamling
6-7, 14 Finska
9-12 Hedvig Eleonora
Map Number(s): Parish:
8, 13 Jakob och Johannes
18-20 Katarina
6-7 Klara
1-2 Kungsholm
8, 13 Kungsbacksförsamlingen
12 Ladugårdslandet
15-17 Maria Magdalena
14 Riddarholmen
3-5 Sabbatsberg fattighus
15-17 Straff- och arbetsfängelset å Norrmalm
14 Sankt Nikolai
3-7, 13 Sankt Olof
9 Skeppsholm
* Spånga
6-7, 14 Storkyrkoförsamlingen
1-2 Ulrika Eleonora


Swedish Lutheran Congregations Created After 1900

Parishes with associated numbers refer to the map above. For parishes with an asterisk (*), see Stockholm County.

Map Number(s): Parish:
* Bromma
9-10 Engelbrekt
* Enskede
* Essinge
* Farsta
3 Gustav Vasa
* Hägersten
* Hässelby
16 Högalid
8, 13 Jakob
8, 13 Johannes
Map Number(s): Parish:
* Kista
3, 8 Matteus
9 Oscar
1 Sankt Göran
* Skarpnäck
* Skärholmen
20 Sofia
* Vantör
* Vällingby
* Västerled


Extraneous parishes:

Patronymics and Naming Customs

Most Swedish surnames are patronymic. Patronymic surnames changed with each generation. Also, Swedish surnames can be changed for a variety of reasons. Understanding surname changes is more important in Swedish research than in United States or Great Britain. To prepare yourself to cope with these changes, carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.

Church Records

Church records from the county of Stockholm contain the following types of records. Click on the Swedish name of the record to link to important facts and clues that can be found in each record.


Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)

The Household Examination Records are a key source in Swedish genealogical research, not found in many other countries. Perhaps their greatest value is that they gave detailed data organized in families for each year. This is particularly helpful in sorting out the duplication of names created by the use of patronymics. The contents of a Household Examination Book varied according to time, place and the minister. As you search the books you might see:

  • The name of the farm, village, or rote (registration area).
  • Names of household members including any
pigor (female workers) or drängar (male workers).
  • Birthplace
  • Birth date or age
  • A score for catechism knowledge.
  • Dates of partaking communion.
  • Dates of participation with the Household Examination.
  • Moving information
  • Death date
  • Marriage date
  • Disciplinary notes
  • Vaccination against smallpox.
  • Reference to military conscription.

Online Records

1. Online Digital Records for Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these sites:

Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

FamilySearch Historical Records Online Databases for Sweden

The original copies of the church records before 1895 are preserved by the Naional and Regional Archives in Sweden. FamilySearch has partnered with The National Archives of Sweden to create indexes of the Swedish church records. For more detail on the contents and coverage of these records, see: Sweden Church Records, 1308 – 1940 Images Published on FamilySearch.

Ancestry.com Online Database for Sweden

Stockholm Index and Images

Sweden Including Stockholm

MyHeritage.com Online Databases for Sweden

ArkivDigital Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Here are links for registering, direct link to Stockholm records, the main search page, and a library of instructional articles on Swedish genealogy methods.

SVAR

2. Microfilms of Church Records for Sweden

Microfilms of the original records used for developing the online databases are also available for research. You will find additional records that have yet to be digitized. Currently, they are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
To find a microfilm:

a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Sweden, Stockholm.
b. Click on "Places within Sweden, Stockholm" and a list of towns and cities will open.
c. Click on the town or city you wish to search.
d. Click on "Church Records" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
e. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor.
f. Some combination of the icons shown below will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record.
FHL icons.png
Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

Reading the Records

  • Online interactive slideshow lessons are available to help you learn to read these records:

Search Strategy and Tips

  • First find the birth and baptism record of your ancestor. Once you know his date and place of birth and his parents' names, you can locate the family in the Household Examination Records.
  • Search every Household Examination Record that your ancestor appears on (from birth to death). You will pick up valuable clues along the way, find children who died young, and establish correct family member relationships.
  • All birth, marriage, or death dates found in Household Examination Records need to be verified in the actual birth, marriage, or death records.
  • Pay attention to relationship titles, occupations, military status, and remarks. See word list for Vocabulary for Household Examination Records.
  • Dates are written in the European order of day, month, and year.
  • The Family History Library created a basic key words list to help with reading the column headings (for when they exist in the actual records.) This copy has been given out at the Nordic Reference Counter for many years. To print your own copy see: Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings

Did you know?

The Eric's Chronicle claims that Birger Jarl (around the 1250's) founded Stockholm. Its foundation and growth are linked to the German trade expansion in the Baltic region. Trade houses in Lübeck opened branches in Stockholm during the 13th Century. In the 1280’s, a city government with a mayor and councilors was set up in Stockholm, following a German model.

Research Tools