To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stockbridge, Madison County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Town of Stockbridge

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Additional Resources:

Madison County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Stockbridge, NY

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

The town of Stockbridge does not have a library but check out the Mid York Library System of which Madison County is a part of, to locate the towns close to Stockbridge that have public libraries.

Oneida Public Library
220 Broad Street
Oneida, New York 13421
Phone: 315-363-3050

Genealogical resources: Local History Room
The Oneida Public Library’s Local History Room contains a noncirculating collection of over 1,560 books, pamphlets, maps and genealogical materials relating to the City of Oneida, Madison County, Oneida County and New York State. It also contains on microfilm Oneida City and Madison County newspapers dating back to 1846, a complete set of published directories of Oneida City and surrounding communities and U.S. Census data for Madison County from 1850 to 1930.

Museums

Fryer Memorial Museum
Corner Rte 46 & Williams Rd
Munnsville, NY 13409
Phone: 315-495-5395

Genealogical Resources: Family files, newspapers, scrapbooks, Bible records, family histories, obituaries. Collection

Societies[edit | edit source]

Madison County Historical Society
435 Main Street
Oneida, NY 13421
Phone: 315-363-4136/315-361-9735
E–mail: history@mchs1900.org

Genealogical Resources: The Mary King Research Library collections includes the following items, family names, newspapers on microfilm, vital stats, census records and more.The Society also has an online newsletter.

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

Town of Stockbridge, Clerk
5314 N. Main St
PO Box 87
Munnsville, NY 13409
Phone: 315–495–6581
E–mail:tospat@dreamscape.com[1]

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

David Sadler, Historian
Phone: 315–495–5395[2]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Stockbridge, Madison County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 427. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.
  2. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 427. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places[edit | edit source]