To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stepney St Dunstan, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Stepney St Dunstan

Guide to Stepney St Dunstan, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stepney St Dunstan, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Tower Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Stepney
Registration District Stepney
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

STEPNEY (St. Dunstan and All Saints), a parish, and the head of a union, in the Tower division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 2½ miles (E.) from St. Paul's. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon, Calvinistic Methodists, and Roman Catholics, and three meeting-houses for Independents.[1]

Resource[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Stepney St Dunstan parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Stepney St Dunstan Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1600 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1640 Protestation Return[edit | edit source]
  • Stepney (including Limehouse, Poplar, Blackwall, Old Ford, Stratford Bow, Spitalfields, Bethnal Green, Mile-End, St. Leonard Bromley, and Ratcliffe) (House of Lords), Copy: FHL Film 1550096 item 25.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records[edit | edit source]

Records survive for three manors in Stepney Parish: Poplar Manor (1423-1921), Shadwell Manor (1300-1756), and Stepney Manor (1318-1894). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

'St Dunstan Stepney, the [parish] church of, is situated between Whitehorse Lane, Commercial Road, and Stepney Green. Stepney is a very ancient village, and was formerly a considerable distance from London. Stow mentions, that in 1299 a parliament was held at the house of Henry Wallies, Mayor of London, who resided in this village, and here Edward I confirmed the great charter of liberty. It was originally one of the largest parishes in England, and contained within its boundaries, what are now the parishes of St Marylebone, at Stratford, St Mary, Whitechapel, St Anne, Limehouse, St John Wapping, St Paul, Shadwell, St George, Ratcliffe Highway, Christ Church, Spitalfields, and St Matthew, Bethnal Green. All these parishes have been sparated from it, yet it still remains one of the largest within the Bills of Mortality, as it still contains the hamlets of Mile-End Old and New, Ratcliffe and Poplar.

'At what period this ancient church was built is not at present known, but it appears to be a relic of the architecture of the fourteenth century. There was a church here so long ago as the time of the Saxons, when it was called the church of All Saints, and we read of the Manor of Stiben-Heath, under the reign of William the Norman; when the church changed its name does not appear. it is a large structure, consisting of a chancel, a nave, and two aisles. At the west end is a plain tower, containing a peal of twelve bells.

'For a considerable number of years this parish largely served as the apparent parish of choice of many merchant maritime and sailors of the Royal Navy. It is a rectory, in the county of Middlesex, in the diocese of London, is exempt from any archdeaconry... There are numerous additional chapels attached to this parish' (see the link above--"A List of District Churches and Chapels...)"[4]

'STEPNEY St. Dunstan and All Saints, a parish, and the head of a union, in the Tower division of the hundred of Ossulstone, County of Middlesex, 2½ miles east of St. Paul's Cathedral, London. The parish includes also the hamlets of Mile-End New Town, Mile-End Old Town, and Ratcliffe. 

'Places of worship were built for the Quakers (the Society of Friends), the New Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon, Calvinistic Methodists, for Baptists, Roman Catholics, and three meeting-houses for Independents.'[5]

The Victoria County History of Stepney (1998) is available online. It includes chapters on manors, estates, economic history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, and charities for the poor.[6]

See A List of District Churches and Chapels of Ease In Stepney Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Stepney on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 January 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  3. Includes Ballast Wharf, Bednall Green, Cock Hill, Comister Alley, Dolphin Yard, East Side, Fig Tree Yard, Great Pump Yard, Kings Head Alley, Limehouse, Limehouse Poplar and Blackwell Hamlet, Little Pump Yard, Maidenhead Alley, Mile End, Nightingale Lane, Pump Yard, Ratcliffe Broadstreet West, Ratcliffe Cross, Ratcliffe Hamlet, Ratcliffe Street Landside, Ratcliffe Street Laneside, Ratcliffe Street Waterside, Rose Lane, Rose Yard, Salmond Lane, Shadwell Hamlet, Ship Alley, Spittlefields Hamlet, Stepney Church West, Storehouse Yard, Sugar House Yard, Three Fox Yard, Tiffin Alley, Trinity Yard and White Horse Street, and Unknown.
  4. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  5. Samuel Lewis, ed. A Topographical Dictionary of England 200-205. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 05 May 2010).
  6. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 11: Stepney, Bethnal Green (2004). URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=92 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.