Stella St Cuthbert, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Stella St Cuthbert, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stella St Cuthbert, Durham|
|Poor Law Union||Gateshead|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Chester le Street|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STELLA, a township, in the parish of Ryton, union of Gateshead, W division of Chester ward, N division of the county of Durham. A Roman Catholic chapel was erected in 1831.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Stella St Cuthbert parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Stella St Cuthbert Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Methodist New Connexion
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodist
Stella St Thomas Aquinas Roman Catholic Church records 1775-1838 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL only in microfilm version; the baptisms are included in the International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.). Marriages are included in Boyd's marriage Index and transcripts are available at the Record Office. The present church was built in 1831 by John Green with some stained glass windows attributed to Pugin.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Stella St Cuthbert (see Ryton) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.