Stein Parish, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Switzerland Genealogy
Guide to Stein Parish, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents
Geography[edit | edit source]
Stein has an area of 9.4 square kilometers (3.6 square miles). The area is used thusly:
68.3% agriculture
22% forest
8.3% settlement
1.4% non-productive
Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell Ausserrhoden, including Stein.
History[edit | edit source]
The parish of stein separated from Hundwil in 1749. It was named after the Uf Stein section of the nearby river, where the new church was to be built. Because of a shortage of water, the church was built at its current location.
In 1794, the population was 1,777. By 1818, it had fallen to 1,367, steadily rising from this point to 1,666 in 1850 and 1,957 in 1888.
Place Names[edit | edit source]
Locations within Stein[edit | edit source]
|
Alpberg |
Gmeinwerk |
Langenegg |
Stöcken |
Surrounding Parishes[edit | edit source]
Click here for a map showing Stein in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell Ausserrhoden.
Herisau
Hundwil
Sankt Gallen (Sankt Gallen)
Schlatt-Haslen (Appenzell Innerrhoden)
Teufen
Collections[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The parish records for Stein are now available online from the Appenzell Ausserrhoden State Archives. They are organized by volume. Click here to access these records.
The protestant parish of Stein was established in 1749 from the parish of Hundwil. Records held by the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen), marriages (Heiraten), and deaths (Tote) from 1716-1885.
The following family books (Familienbuch) were created for Stein.
Volume 1 (1660) - family registry of citizens (begun about 1790), held at the Cantonal Archive in Herisau
Volume 2 (19th century) - family registry of non-citizen residents, held at the Cantonal Archive in Herisau
Volume 3 (1823) - family registry of citizens, held at the rectory in Stein
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)
The following genealogies have been researched for Stein families:
Bondt family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,469)
Frehner family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,007; see also FHL Film 193,471)
Grubenmann family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,473)
Hug family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,475)
Hugener family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,475)
Müller family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,042 and 128,043)
Schmid family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 1,181,674; see also FHL Film 193,483)
Signer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,484)
Stricker family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,485)
Theiler family, by Rosa Holzer (FHL Film 1,183,641)
Zuberbühler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,036)
Zürcher family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 1,181,672; see also FHL Film 193,488)
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Civil registration began in 1876. Stein belongs to the Hinterland civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:
Zivilstandsamt Hinterland App. A. Rh.
Poststrasse 6
CH - 9102 Herisau
Tel: +41 71 354 54 35
Email: zivilstandsamt@herisau.ar.ch
Surnames[edit | edit source]
The following surnames held citizenship in Stein prior to 1875:
|
Berweger |
Hafner |
Metzger |
Stark |
Related Sources[edit | edit source]
The town's website (in German) can be found here.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Cantonal Archive of Appenzell Ausserrhoden (in German)
References[edit | edit source]
Registry of Appenzell Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos
