E-mail: E-mail form
- 1700 West Washington Street
- Suite 300
- Phoenix, AZ 85007
Telephone: 602-926-3870, or Toll Free: 1-800-228-4710 (Arizona only)
Hours and holidays: Monday-Friday 8-5
Map, directions, and public transportation:
- Public transportation: Valley Metro Bus
- Route 1 - Washington/Jefferson stops on Adams or Jefferson near 18th Ave
- Route 17 - 17th Avenue stops on 17th Ave near Adams (about 2 blocks east)
- Route 19 - 19th Avenue stops on 19th Ave near Jefferson or Adams (about 2 blocks west)
- Route 573 - Northwest Valley Express stops on 17th Ave near Adams (about 2 blocks east)
Internet sites and databases:
- State Library of Arizona events, government info, legal resources, genealogy and family history, digital AZ library, visit the capitol, research centers, contact us.
- Online catalog by title, author, keyword, subject, call number, or ISBN. Also in WorldCat.
- Genealogy and Family History available at the library, available at the archives, online.
The State Library of Arixona is the starting place for Arizona family history research. This is primarily a book library—a good one. They also have census microfilms. Collection includes immigration and naturalization books and indexes, published material from all states for vital records, courts, wills, and county histories, published material for some international nations, major genealogical periodicals for several states, and Internet sites such as Ancestry, and Heritage Quest Online.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the State Library of Arizona, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- National Archives—Pacific Region (Riverside), CA. Federal court records and federal agencies in Arizona.
- State Archives, Phoenix, marriages, wills and probates, civil and criminal records, brands, taxes, coroner records, voting registers, prisoners, state agencies, maps, newspapers, photos.
- Bancroft Library, Univ. Calif. Berkeley Early settlers, migration trails, stagecoaches, miners, and histories. They probably have more Arizona historical material than any repository in Arizona.
- Southwest Museum Braun Research Library, Los Angeles, CA. Includes the Monk Library of Arizoniana, California and Arizona history, and records of southwest American Indians.
- Family History Library, Salt Lake City, has many Arizona cemeteries, census, church, court, histories, immigration, land, military, and naturalization records on microfilm.
- Mesa FamilySearch Library, Mesa, 81,000 microfilms including AZ censuses, 40,000 books (many local histories), 129 public computers, and over 90 classes and workshops per month.
- Arizona State University Library, Tempe, a good place to look for early Arizona families.
- Phoenix Public Library, Burton Barr Central Library The Arizona history collection is a good place for genealogy research.
- West Valley Genealogical Society, Youngstown, an active society with a good little library. Probably represents outside Arizona better because of retirees who contribute from all around the U.S.
- Maricopa County Office of Vital Registration births 1950-present; and deaths.
- Maricopa County Superior Court Clerk marriages, criminal, civil, divorces, probate and tax court cases.
- Maricopa County Recorder's Office land and mortgage records 1871-present.
- U.S. District Court civil, criminal, appellate, and bankruptcy cases.
- Maricopa Historical Society, Wickenburg, exhibits and publications.
- Arizona Jewish Historical Society, Phoenix, exhibits and genealogical classes.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Gila, La Paz, Pima, Pinal, Yavapai, and Yuma.
- Arizona Historical Society, Tucson Library and Archives, has a Mexican and an early Arizona collection, Colorado River topics, manuscripts 1860-present, oral histories, maps, and photos.
- University of Arizona Special Collections, Tucson, materials on Arizona, Southwest American history, and the U.S./Mexico Borderlands, including rare books, manuscripts, and photographs.
- Northern Arizona University Cline Library, Flagstaff, includes Arizona history, Arizona photographs, archives, and oral histories.
- Pima County Public Library, Joel D. Valdez Main Library, Tucson, the Arizona collection, and the Southern Arizona Genealogical Society collection are housed here.
- Repositories in surrounding states (or nations): California, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah; in Mexico: Baja California, Sonora, and Mexico.
- California State Archives, Sacramento, has county records of the state, such as court records, prison records, wills, deeds, as well as military records, state census records, and school records.
- Nevada State Library and Archives, Carson City, births, marriages, deaths, censuses, military.
- New Mexico State Records Center and Archives, Santa Fe, government records since 1621, manuscripts, Catholic church records, census, wills, family histories, letters, diaries, maps, photos.
- Utah State Archives, Salt Lake City, newspaper, death, land, court, history, naturalization, military, directories, criminals.
- Archivo General de la Nación, Mexico City, church, civil, census, court, history, military, migration, land.