Stark County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stark County, Ohio)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Ohio
Stark County

Guide to Stark County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}Coordinates: 40.81°0′N 81.37°0′W / 40.81°N 81.37°W / 40.81; -81.37

Stark County, Ohio
Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Stark County
Location in the state of Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Stark County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Stark County Courthouse
101 West Tuscarawas St.

Canton, Ohio 44702
Stark County Website

e

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1809
1867

1809
1810
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Description

The county was named for John Stark, Revolutionary War General known as the "Hero of Bennington". It's county seat is Canton and was founded February 13, 1808. It is located in the North-central area of the state.[1]

Neighboring Counties

Summit County  • Portage County  • Mahoning County  • Columbiana County  • Carroll County  • Tuscarawas County  • Holmes County  • Wayne County


Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1940) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Canton
Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Massillon, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Ohio, Stark County Court Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Stark County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories
  • Blue, Herbert T.O., History of Stark County, Ohio: From the Age of Prehistoric Man to the Present Day, (Chicago, Illinois: S. J. Clark Pub. Co., 1928). FHL film 1000343 Items 1-3

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stark County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohstark.jpg

Military

  • Civil War
    Civil War service men from Stark County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Stark County.
  • Ohio Genealogical Society. Stark County Chapter. Special schedules of the eleventh census of the United States, 1890 : schedules enumerating union veterans and widows of union veterans of the Civil War for Stark County, Ohio. (North Canton, Ohio : Ohio Genealogical Society. Stark County Chapter, 1995),(FHL book 977.162 X2s 1890
- 4th Regiment, Ohio Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company F (also known as Canton Zouaves)
- 104th Regiment, Ohio Infantry , Companies A, B, and E
- 107th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A, D, and H

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Stark County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Stark County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Stark County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stark County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

Stark County Courthouse
110 Central Plaza S;
Canton, OH 44702-2219
Phone: 330.438.0796

County Health Department has birth records;
Probate Court has marriage and probate records;
Family Court has divorce records; County Recorder
has land records[3]


A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Ohio, Stark County Coroner's Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stark County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

 Vital Records

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stark County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Websites

Places

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

References

  1. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Stark County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/stark/ accessed 2/27/2017.
  2. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stark County, Ohio. Page 546 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.