To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stark County, Illinois Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Stark County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Stark County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Stark County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 4, 1817
County Seat Toulon
Courthouse
Stark county courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Stark County Courthouse
130 West Main Street
Toulon, Illinois 61483
(309) 286-5911
Stark County Website


Stark County Organization[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1855 1839 1878 1839 1817 1839 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1916. General compliance by 1922.

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Stark County are kept, see the Stark County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

John Stark

Stark County was named for John Stark who was an officer during the American Revolution and was known as the "Hero of Bennington" because of his exemplary service at the Battle of Bennington.[2]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1839--Stark County was created 2 March 1839 from Knox and Putnam Counties. County seat: Toulon [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for General Colonel John Stark,(August 28, 1728 – May 8, 1822) who served in the American Continental Army during the American Revolutionary War. He became widely known as the "Hero of Bennington" for his exemplary service at the Battle of Bennington in 1777. The county seat is Toulon and the county was organized on 1839. The County is located in the Northwest Central area of the state.[4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Records and Resources[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Stark, Illinois online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Illinois Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Stark county cemeteries.

  • Epodunk has a list of Stark County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190010,186
191010,098−0.9%
19209,693−4.0%
19309,184−5.3%
19408,881−3.3%
19508,721−1.8%
19608,152−6.5%
19707,510−7.9%
19807,389−1.6%
19906,534−11.6%
20006,332−3.1%
20105,994−5.3%
IL Counties 1900-1990

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Leeson, M. A. Documents and biography pertaining to the settlement and progress of Stark County, Illinois: containing an authentic summary of records, documents, historical works and newspapers relating to Indian history, original settlement, organization and politics, courts and bar, citizen soldiers, military societies, marriages, churches, schools, secret, benevolent and literary societies, etc.: together with biography of representative men of the past and present. Chicago: M.A. Leeson & Co., 1887. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Stark County, Illinois and its people : a record of settlement, organization, progress and achievement. Chicago: Pioneer Pub. Co., 1916. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Shallenberger, E. H. Stark County and Its Pioneers. Cambridge, Ill.: B.W. Seaton, Prairie Chief Office, book and job printer, 1989. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Stark County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Stark County land and property may be found online in the FamilySearch Catalog. Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.


Online Resources

Maps[edit | edit source]

Henry CountyBureau CountyMarshall CountyPeoria CountyKnox CountyIL STARK.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Stark County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Stark County.

- 7th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 19th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 37th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 65th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Scotch Regiment), Companies A and I.
- 112th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, E and F.
- 139th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company H.
- 151st Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company I.

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Newspapers and Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Poorhouse[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records


Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library.

1840–1911 Probate records (and index) FHL film 1401887 and 1401888 Items 1-3

Additional Resources[edit | edit source]

Additional resources for Stark County probates may be found in the Illinois, Stark – Probate topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be available for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Repositories[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Stark County are kept, see the Stark County Courthouse page.

Family History Center[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

There are over 4500 Family History Centers in more than 80 countries offering public access to genealogical records from all over the world. Family History Centers provide patrons with access to over a billion online records and approximately 2.5 million circulating microfilms. Centers are staffed by local volunteers who are eager to provide genealogical research assistance. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Stark County. To find the nearest Family History Center, check out the Family Search Centers page on the FamilySearch.org website.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)[edit | edit source]

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for Stark County.

Public Libraries[edit | edit source]

Ira C. Reed Public Library
302 Commercial Street
Lafayette, IL 61449
Tel: 309-995-3042
Emai: irclibrary@winco.net
Facebook

Toulon Public Library District
306 W. Jefferson Street
Toulon, IL 61483
Tel: 309-286-5791
Fax: 309-286-4481
Email: toulon.library@gmail.com
Facebook

Wyoming Public Library District
119 N. Seventh St.
Wyoming, IL 61491
Tel: 309-695-2241
Fax: 309-695-2241
Facebook

Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Stark County Genealogical Society
207 W. Main Street
Toulon, IL 61483-0083
E-mail:starkcogene@yahoo.com
Website

Stark County Historical Society
318 W. Jefferson Street
Toulon, IL 61483
Telephone Number: 309-286-7079

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Stark County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by theIllinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Stark County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Births[edit | edit source]

Marriages[edit | edit source]

Online Resources

Deaths[edit | edit source]

Online Resources

Additional Resources[edit | edit source]

Additional resources for Stark births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Stark – Vital Records topic page and the Illinois, Stark – Vital Records - Newspapers topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stark County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
  2. John Stark www.wikipedia.org
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Stark County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stark_County,_Illinois 04/20/2017.