Stanstead Mountfitchet, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Stanstead Mountfitchet, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stanstead Mountfitchet, Essex|
|Poor Law Union||Bishop's Stortford|
|Registration District||Bishop's Stortford|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1715; 1800|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Stanstead-Mountfitchet, is a village and a parish in the district of Bishop-Stortford and county of Essex. The village is on the river Stort, and the London and Cambridge railway, 2¾ miles NE of Bishop-Stortford; and has a post-office under Bishop-Stortford, as well as a railway station. There is an Independent chapel, as well as a Quakers' chapel.
Stanstead Mountfitchet, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Stanstead Mountfitchet, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Stanstead Mountfitchet on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted 17 May 2013.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.