Stanford In the Vale, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Stanford In the Vale

Guide to Stanford in the Vale, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stanford In the Vale, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ganfield; Ock
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon
Registration District Faringdon; Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

STANFORD-IN-THE-VALE (St. Denis), a parish, in the union of Farringdon, partly in the hundred of Ock, but chiefly in that of Ganfield, county of Berks, 4 miles (E. S. E.) from Farringdon; containing, with the chapelry of Goosey. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stanford In the Vale, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Stanford In the Vale, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK



Undefined
IGI 1558-1875
1555-1885


OFHS 1558-1885
1563-1914
1558-1894
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Christians
  • Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stanford In The Vale GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 180-183. Date accessed: 3 October 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.
  4. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.