Stanbridge, Bedfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Bedfordshire
Bedfordshire Parishes
Stanbridge

Guide to Stanbridge, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stanbridge, Bedfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manshead
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Leighton Buzzard
Registration District Leighton Buzzard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560; For more records see Leighton Buzzard
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunstable
Diocese Pre-1846 - Lincoln; Post 1845 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Leighton Buzzard
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Parish History

STANBRIDGE, a chapelry in Leighton-Buzzard parish, Beds; 1 mile NNW of Stanbridgeford r. station, and 3 ESE of Leighton-Buzzard. Post town, Leighton-Buzzard. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stanbridge parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
GIBBS = StevenGibbs.me.uk - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Stanbridge Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


GIBBS 1837-1901
1837-1901
1837-1901
NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1626-1784


IGI 1560-1812,1607-1731,
1813-1824,1824-1881





FS Catalog PRs
1561-1961
1561-1961
1561-1961
FS Catalog BTs
1611-1875
1611-1875
1611-1875

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyans
  • Methodists
  • Primitive Methodists

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Leighton Buzzard

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk