To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Stamford Baron St. Martin, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Stamford Baron St Martin Lincolnshire.jpg


This parish is partly in Lincolnshire and mostly in Northhamptonshire. See also Stamford Baron St Martin, Lincolnshire

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Although physically located in Stamford, Lincolnshire, this parish was included in Northamptonshire. Those parts of the parish that are within the municipal borough of Stamford were move to Lincolnshire in 1832 and 1835. A new parish,Stamford Baron St. Martin, Lincolnshire, was created in 1889. Those portions of this parish that remained as part of Northampton were renamed St. Martin Without at that time.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Stamford Baron St. Martin, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[1][2]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[1][2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
Stamford Baron St. Martin, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1890 1813-1890 1813-1890 1813-1890
AC PRs 1813-1902 1813-1902 1813-1860 1813-1860
FREG 1669-1705, 1813-1902 1668-1705, 1813-1908 1668-1705, 1813-1860

Stamford St Martin or Stamford Baron is in the county of Northamptonshire and the Diocese of Peterborough, although it is physically located within the Borough of Stamford. The parish records are therefore deposited at Northamptonshire Record Office.

Stamford Baron (St. Martins) Baptisms 1572-1902 Marriages 1572-1957 Burials 1572-1860 are deposited registers at Northampton Records Office, Wootton Hall Park, Northampton,NN4 8BQ Sarah Bridges, County Archivist and Heritage Services Manager: archivist@northamptonshire.gov.uk

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Stamford Baron St Martin

Census records[edit | edit source]

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Stamford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.