Staindrop, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Staindrop, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Staindrop St Mary Co Durham
|Poor Law Union||Teesdale|
|Parish registers: 1635|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1765|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
STAINDROP (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Teesdale, S. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans. 
Additional information: St Mary Staindrop is an ancient parish and part of the church building incorporated into the later church is Saxon.
Theparish includes Cleatham, Hilton, Raby ,Wackerfield,Langdale and Shotton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/235 1765-1898 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. In addition the DDR/EA/PBT/2/236 Burial Ground transcripts for the Staindrop Friends 1867-1891 are included.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The Parish Registers for the period 1635-1973 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Stai).
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Churches
- Primitive Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Staindrop on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.