|Staffordshire Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources, or support its efforts.
Addresses of the societies are for the most part where their meetings are held as they are by-and-large not brick-and-mortar institutions.
Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
5 Sanderling Court
Kidderminster, Worcestershire DY10 4TS UK
Telephone: 01562 743912
Website: Birmingham and Midland Society
- The Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry is the principal family history society for the counties of Staffordshire, Warwickshire, and Worcestershire. The modern metropolitan boroughs of Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall, and Wolverhampton (collectively known as the West Midlands) are within our area. The metropolitan boroughs of Dudley, Sandwell, Walsall, and Wolverhampton are also sometimes collectively referred to as "The Black Country."
- The Black Country Society believes the original Black Country to be that area of South Staffordshire and North Worcestershire (excluding Birmingham) which was on the famous 30 foot seam of coal.
Midland Catholic History Society
16 Brandhall Court
Oldbury, West Midlands B68 8DE UK
Telephone: 0121 422 1573
Website: Midland Catholic History Society
- The Midland Catholic History Society was formed in 1996 by the merger of the Staffordshire Catholic History Society and the Worcestershire Catholic History Society. Staffordshire was founded in 1960 and Worcestershire in 1962 (amalgamated with the Federated Western Marches Recusant Society in 1981). Both Staffordshire and Worcestershire were included in the Midland Vicariate Apostolic (1688-1840), and the Central Vicariate (1840-50) and the Diocese, later Archdiocese, of Birmingham (1850-). The journals of the two societies were merged in 1991 and this allowed the regular appearance of a well produced publication drawing on material from all over the Midlands. The Worcestershire journal, Worcester Recusant, had long included material from Warwickshire, Herefordshire and Shropshire.
- The Ranulf Higden Society transcribes and translates medieval Latin documents associated with Lancashire, Cheshire, Staffordshire, and Derbyshire. Some people for their own purposes need to read and understand medieval records written in Latin or Anglo-Norman but do not have the benefit of the kind of support normally provided by postgraduate courses in universities. The Society was formed to provide a means by which they might receive continuing instruction in various relevant fields and encourage and support.
Wesley Historical Society - West Midlands Methodist History Society
Telephone: 0121 749 2986
Website: Wesley Historical Society - West Midlands Methodist History Society
- The aims of the Society laid down in 1893 were to promote the study of the history and literature of early Methodism, research into the Wesley's, and investigation into the beginnings and development of Methodism. To study and promote the history of all branches of Methodist history in the West Midlands area. Area: The Birmingham and Wolverhampton and Shrewsbury Methodist Districts.
Wolverhampton Civic and Historical Society
c/o The Old School
73 Dudley Road
Wolverhampton, West Milands WV2 3BY UK
Telephone: 01902 504741
Website: Wolverhampton Civic and Historical Society
- The Wolverhampton Civic Society was founded in 1960 and in 2010 it merged with the Wolverhampton History and Heritage Society to become the Wolverhampton Civic and Historical Society. Our aims are to promote the city through talks by expert speakers on various topics relating to Wolverhampton, the promotion of local history research, the erection of blue plaques and the scrutinising of planning applications. We are dedicated to promoting the history and heritage of Wolverhampton and ensuring that any new buildings and developments do not adversely affect the character and image of our great city!
Wolverhampton History and Heritage Society
Website: Wolverhampton History and Heritage Society
- The Society's site contains material about Wolverhampton's history and heritage, and Black Country towns. It is hoped that it will turn into an exercise in interactive co-operative writing and become a focus for those who know something about, or are finding out something about Wolverhampton and the surrounding area's history and heritage.
- Audley Parish is situated in the rolling hills of North Staffordshire and has a long and interesting history, including farming and a period of intensive coal mining. Since 1986 the Audley and District Family History Society has been working to make records available for Audley and its adjoining parishes. Our records are based on the ancient ecclesiastical parish of Audley, which comprises of Audley Township, Bignall End, Halmer End, Knowle End, Park End, Eardley End and Talke. The adjoining area comprises of the ancient parishes of Barthomley and Church Lawton in Cheshire, and Wolstanton, Keele, Madeley and Betley in Staffordshire.
Berkswich History Society
Walton Village Hall
Green Gore Lane
Stafford, Staffordshire ST17 0LD UK
Telephone: 01785 665464
Website: Berkswich History Society
- The regular monthly meetings are devoted to a programme of talks on topics of local historical interest or on wider issues which relate to such events in the village; visits to local and distant sites, landscapes, properties, buildings, record offices, archives, etc.; meetings at which local research is planned and carried out; and the experiences of growing up in the village and family life in the 20th century and before.
Biddulph & District Genealogy & Historical Society
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire ST8 6HH UK
Website: Biddulph & District Genealogy & Historical Society
- The aim of the Society is to promote genealogy and local history particularly pertaining to the Biddulph area.
- The aim of the Burntwood Family History Group continues to bring together those who are interested in the research of their family history.
- The Society has an interest in the Coal Mining Heritage of the Cannock Chase Coalfield. It is researching and writing the history of various Colliery Companies and Collieries and, of course, the Cannock Chase Coalfield.
- The website provides information about Codsall & Bilbrook History Society, its activities and meetings. The Society has also published some archive material on the site. There are 100 A4-sized pages of text and pictures which include residents' memories from the early part of the 20th Century, the struggle to get Codsall a village hall of its own, an archive postcard collection, and extracts from our History Trails to help walkers explore the area on foot.
Colton History Society
Website: Colton History Society
- Colton is a small village in Staffordshire, a mile North of Rugeley. It boasts a long and vibrant history, with many people, traditions and buildings of historic merit.
Eccleshall Historical Society
Eccleshall Community Centre
Stafford, Staffordshire ST21 6AU UK
Telephone: 01630 673153
Website: Eccleshall Historical Society
- Eccleshall Historical Society arranges informal meetings for people with an interest in history in general and local history in particular. Visits to places of historical interest are included in each years’ programme.
Hixon Local History Society
Hixon Memorial Hall
Stafford, Staffordshire ST18 0QF
Telephone: 01889 270924
Kinver Historical Society
Kinver Senior Citizens Club
The Edward Marsh Centre
Stourbridge, South Staffordshire DY7 6ET UK
Telephone: 01384 872117
- The Society is a focus for those who wish to learn more about the history of Rugeley (Staffordshire) and its surrounding parishes. It serves Rugeley, Staffordshire and the neighbouring parishes. We care about the heritage of the town of Rugeley and its surrounding area.
- The Society is actively involved in promoting research into the history of the town of Leek and surrounding villages in the Staffordshire Moorlands. It aims to give local historians opportunities to display their findings and explain their discoveries to as wide an audience as possible.
Northern Mine Research Society
Website: Northern Mine Research Society
- We are a group of people dedicated to the preservation and recording of mining history, Northern referring to the our administrative base rather than our field of interest.
- We promote, maintain, and encourage the growth and development of interests in local and family history of the Village and Parish of Norton in the Moors in North Staffordshire. It is also our goal to preserve Records and Photographs of the Village and Parish (including transcriptions and publications).
- Three ancient parishes. Hamstall Ridware; Mavesyn Ridware and Pipe Ridware are in the County of Staffordshire in the English Midlands. The Parish of Mavesyn Ridware includes Hill Ridware and Blithbury: Hamstall Ridware includes Nethertown. This society is dedicated to the history of these parishes.
- Sedgley Local History Society [SLHS] is a Black Country group based in the village of Sedgley. Here, the heritage of the Manor of Sedgley in south Staffordshire, is focused through its nine villages - Sedgley, Gospel End, Cotwall End, Upper Gornal, Lower Gornal, Woodsetton, Coseley, Ettingshall, and Brierley - on a history of people, places and events.
Smethwick Local History Society
Bearwood Baptist Church
corner of Rawlings Road/Bearwood Road
Smethwick, Sandwell, West Midlands B66 4HA UK
Telephone: 0121 429 4623
Website: Smethwick Local History Society
- Our aim is to bring to people's attention the history which surrounds them and encourage the research, recording and preserving of many different aspects of our local heritage.
- The object of the Society shall be to be concerned with, and have regard for the history, archaeology, character, beauty and sociology of Stafford and its surrounding area.
Stafford and Mid-Staffs Archaeological Society
St Bertelin's Church
68 Holmcroft Road
Stafford, Staffordshire ST16 1JB UK
Website: Stafford and Mid-Staffs Archaeological Society
- The society was established in the late 1950s, and became Staffordshire Archaeological and Historical Society in 1995, reflecting its county-wide activities and its publication of original research papers.
Staffordshire Industrial Archaeology Society
2 Ivy Cottages
Stafford, Staffordshire ST18 0XT UK
Website: Staffordshire Industrial Archaeology Society
- Are you interested in Mills, Canals, Steam Engines, iron works, mines, transport, social history, etc.? Why not explore our fascinating industrial past with the Staffordshire Industrial Archaeology Society?
- The Society has an enviable record in the field of publication of parish registers and it is now one of the few in existence still regularly printing parish registers in book form. We are making a special appeal for new members to support us in our work and are particularly looking for members who would be interested in undertaking some transcribing. The aim of the Society is to print volumes of registers as often as funds allow and we can find the skilled volunteers to do the transcribing. Each member receives a free copy of a register as soon as it is published.
- The purpose of the society has always been the publication of documents, both local and national, relating to the history of Staffordshire, although articles and monographs have also been included.
Stoke-on-Trent Museum Archaeological Society
c/o The Potteries Museum and Art Gallery
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire ST1 3DW UK
Website: Stoke-on-Trent Museum Archaeological Society
- Stoke-on-Trent Museum Archaeological Society (SOTMAS) was founded in 1959 and our stated aim is “to promote and encourage archaeological research, especially the examination, recording and preservation of the antiquities of North Staffordshire."
Stone Historical & Civic Society
St Michael’s Community Hall
Stone, Staffordshire ST15 8BB UK
Telephone: 01785 748960
Tean & Checkley Historical Society
Checkley Community Centre
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire ST10 4NB UK
Telephone: 01538 723303
Website: Tean & Checkley Historical Society
Tipton & Wednesbury Family History Society
18 Hobs Road
Wednesbury, West Midlands WS10 9BD UK
Website: Tipton & Wednesbury Family History Society
- The aims of the Society are o promote and encourage the public study of British Family History, genealogy, heraldry and allied subjects with particular reference to the ancient Towns of Tipton and Wednesbury.
Walsall Family History Group
St. Matthews Community Centre
St Matthews Close
Walsall, West Midlands WS1 3DG UK
Telephone: 01922 454430
Website: Walsall Family History Group
- W.F.H.G. is a small group of enthusiastic genealogists based in the market town of Walsall in the county of West Midlands, but still refers to the old county name of Staffordshire whenever genealogy is discussed.
- We have a range of speakers with presentations from a broad range of history and also to reflect interest in local trends. We have been involved in a number of projects in the past – for example, working with the West Bromwich Paupers Memorial Committee to help establish a lasting memorial in Heath Lane Cemetery with related educational work, and creating a Paupers Memorial Trail in West Bromwich.
Willenhall History Society
Willenhall Community and Youth Foundation (aka The CHART Centre)
Willenhall, West Midlands WV13 2DR UK
Telephone: 01902 606369
Website: Willenhall History Society
- The monthly meetings have been the main regular feature of Willenhall History Society. There have been a lot of interesting talks about different aspects of the history of the town. There have also been many talks about other historical matters from country houses to fairgrounds and canal tunnels to Churches.
Wolverhampton Archaeology Group
The Conference Suite
Wolverhampton, Staffordshire WV6 0DU UK
Telephone: 07790 837096/01902 562568
Website: Wolverhampton Archaeology Group
- The Wolverhampton Archaeology Group aims to support and encourage the practice of archaeology in and around the City of Wolverhampton.