Staffanstorp Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Staffanstorp Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
Prior to 1963, the name of this parish was Brågarp. In 1964 the Swedish Lutheran State Church changed the name of the parish to Staffanstorp.
Staffanstorp Municipality is a municipality in Skåne County, southern Sweden and its seat is located in the town Staffanstorp.
The municipality was formed by the local government reform of 1952, when 12 original units, created out of parishes in 1863, were united. The next reform in 1971 did not affect the size of this municipality.
In the municipality there are two localities which have grown into suburbs of Malmö, Staffanstorp and Hjärup, which both are typical residential districts dominated by detached houses built in the second half of the 20th century, wherefrom most people commute for work in the nearby cities of Lund and Malmö.
|Staffanstorp Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy|
|Pastorat||-1961 Brågarp and Nevishög, 1962-1963 Brågarp, Nevishög, Kyrkheddinge, Esarp and Bjällerup, 1964- Staffanstorp, Kyrkheddinge, Esarp and Bjällerup|
|Län||Before 1658 belonged to Denmark, 1669 - 1996 Malmöhus, 1997 - the modern county of Skåne.|
|Militär indelning||add here|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/LLA/13600|
|National Archive SVAR||link|
|SCB Congregation map||link|
|Open Street map||link|
Brågarp no.1 - no.6, Brågarps fattigstuga
Grevie no.1 - no. 7, Gullåkra, Gullålra no.1 - no. 8
Nevishög, Nevishög no. 1 - no. 15
Staffanstorp (Stanstorp) no.1 - no.4, Stansvala no.1
Torreberga no.1 - no.6, Torreberga onumrerad jord
Önsvala no. 3 - no. 5, Önsvala no.5
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Malmöhus Church Records, 1541-1918; index 1646-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Malmöhus Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Malmöhus and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Brågarp Församling Husförhörslängd 1825 - 1830 Ortregister