Stadhampton with Chislehampton, Oxfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Stadhampton with Chislehampton, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stadhampton with Chislehampton, Oxfordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Abingdon|
|Parish registers: 1556; Separate registers exist for Chislehampton beginning 1762|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662; Separate records exist for Chislehampton beginning 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Dorchester; Court of the Peculiar of Banbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STADHAMPTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Abingdon, hundred of Dorchester, county of Oxford, 5 miles (N.) from Bensington, incorporated with that of Chislehampton. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Stadhampton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Stadhampton Parish Online Records|
Chislehampton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Chislehampton Parish Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 164-170. Date accessed: 27 September 2012.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
- 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.