To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Thomas in the Liberty of the Rolls

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Thomas in the Liberty of the Rolls
St Thomas in the Liberty of the Rolls
St Thomas in the Liberty of the Rolls
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Without the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union West London
Registration District West London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Thomas in the Liberty of the Rolls, was united with parish church of St. Dunstan in the West (which see). West out of Fetter Lane at No.133, north of the [old Public] Record Office (P.O. Directory). In Farringdon Ward Without. [It was f]irst mention[ed]: Rocque, 1746. In O. and M. 1677, the site is occupied by" Bond's Stables." Named after the Rolls Office (q.v.). [The] Rolls' Chapel [i]n Chancery Lane, attached to the Rolls' Office (q.v.), it was "originally the Chapel of the house for converted Jews, erected by H[enry] III. It was later "rebuilt by Inigo Jones, 1617, and now incorporated in the Record Office."[1]

1848 parish description
St. Thomas, Rolls’ Liberty is a parish, in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is Hyndman’s Trustees.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

St Thomas in the Liberty of the Rolls parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
St Thomas in the Liberty of the Rolls Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1842-1874
1845-1875


FS Catalog PRs
1842-1886
1842-1886
1842-1886

See surrounding parishes for more records. To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census[edit | edit source]

1600 Lay Subsidy[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Adapted from: 'Rolls' Yard', A Dictionary of London (1918). URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=63293 Date accessed: 12 March 2010.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  3. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.