To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Swithun London Stone with St Mary Bothaw, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Swithun London Stone with St Mary Bothaw

London St Swithin London Stone with St Mary Bothaw ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Swithun London Stone with St Mary Bothaw, London
Londonstswithin.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1614; Separate registers exist for St Mary Bothaw beginning 1536
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-21; 1639-40; 1800; Separate records exist for St Mary Bothaw beginning 1799
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division) and Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

"St Swithun London Stone with St Mary Bothaw, the church of, is situated at the south west corner of St Swithin's Lane, Cannon Street, and derives its name from being dedicated to St Swithin, Bishop of Winchester and Chencellor to King Egbert, who died in 806. By ancient records it appears there was a church upon this spot, dedicated to the same saint, prior to 1330. This church was destroyed by the fire of London, and the present, plain and substantial building erected by Sir Christopher Wren, in its stead. The patronage of this church appears to have been enciently in the prior and convent of Tortington, in the diocese of Chester, in whom it continued till the dissolution of the monasteries by henry VIII, who granted it to the Earl of Oxford (see Oxford Court, Cannon Street), who soon after disposed of it, and it still continues in private hands. Against the southern side of this church, next to Cannon Street, is carefully preserved that relic of antiquity, London Stone. [see that article]. On the rebuilding of this church, the parish of St Mary Bothall or Bothaw (see that church), was united to that of St Swithin, by act of Parliament. The living is a rectory in the city of London, in the province of Canterbury, and in the alternate patronage of og the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Mary Bothaw Parish united with St Swithin London Stone Parish.[2]


1848 description

St. Swithin, London-stone, with St. Mary Bothaw are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Grocer's Company, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]


These parishes were part of Walbrook Ward.


"Swithin" is a common alternative spelling for "Swithun."

White's 1904 history of St. Swithin Church has been digitized:

  • White, J.G. History of the Ward of Walbrook in the City of London: Together with an Account of the Aldermen of the Ward and of the Two Remaining Churches, St. Stephen, Walbrook, & St. Swithin, London Stone, with Their Rectors. 1904. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Mary Bothaw parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Mary Bothaw Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1537-1653, 1804-1853
ANC 1 1536-1653 1536-1653 1536-1653 1536-1653 1536-1653 1536-1653
ANC 2

1754-1812, 1854 1754-1812, 1854

ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1536-1653




FS Catalog PRs
1536-1812
1536-1812
1536-1812

St Swithin London Stone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Swithin London Stone Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1804-1853
ANC 1 1614-1812 1614-1812 1614-1812 1614-1812 1614-1812 1614-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1756-1931 1756-1931 1813-1851 1813-1851
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1615-1874




FS Catalog PRs
1602-1944
1602-1944
1602-1944
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1640
1629-1640
1629-1640

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Clement Eastcheap.png
  • St Mary Bothaw, Dowgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Bothaw, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/147); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Swithin London Stone, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/147); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Swithun London Stone, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Bothaw, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Bothaw, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/564); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Swithin London Stone, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/564); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Swithin London Stone, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/601); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Swithin London Stone, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/581); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]

(see supplements for St Swithin residents) 

1811 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1811 Census of St Swithin London Stone exists and is held at The British Library.[11]

1821 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1821 Census of St Swithin London Stone exists and is held at The British Library.[11]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Swithin London Stone Parish are available online.


Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, St Swithun London Stone with St Mary Bothaw, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London and the Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, Shoreham. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Swithin churchyard

Transcripts of early St Swithun London Stone with St Mary Bothaw, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[12]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Swithin churchyard.[13]

Find A Grave has created a page on the destroyed St Swithin London Stone Churchyard (1 entry).

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Mary Bothaw Parish the unique surname Bothaw.[14]

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Swithin, London Stone
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Bothaw

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. 11.0 11.1 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68, 71.
  12. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  13. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.