St Stephens by Saltash, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to St Stephens by Saltash, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Stephens by Saltash, Cornwall|
St Stephen's Church, Saltash Cornwall
|Poor Law Union||St Germans|
|Registration District||St Germans|
|Parish registers: 1545|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
STEPHENS, ST., by Saltash, a parish, in the union of St. Germans, S. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall. 
St Stephens by Saltash is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.
Other places in the parish include: Trematon, Burraton, and St Stephen.
There was a church here early as the 13th century and it stood on the same site as the present church. It is believed to have been consecrated in 1259.
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
|COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|St Stephens by Saltash, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
||1679-1773, 1894-1937|| |
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 214
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Saltash Maggie Watkinson.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
St Stephens by Saltash in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 200-205. Date accessed: 23 March 2013.
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 27 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.