St Stephen by Launceston, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to St Stephen by Launceston, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Stephen by Launceston, Cornwall|
St Stephen by Launceston contributor Tony Atkin
|Poor Law Union||Launceston|
|Parish registers: 1566|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1611|
|Rural Deanery||Trigg Major|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
STEPHENS, ST., a parish, in the union of Launceston, N. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, ¾ of a mile (N. N. W.) from Launceston. 
St Stephen-by-Launceston is an Ancient parish historically in the Diocese of Exeter and Trigg Major deanery until the formation of the Diocese of Truro
It is located in the Anglican Diocese of Truro and is attached to the Deanery of Trigg Major in the Archdeaconry of Bodmin. The Parish of St Stephen-by-Launceston is now part of the United Parish of Launceston, the other parts being Launceston St Mary Magdalene, Cornwall and St Thomas by Launceston, Cornwall.
The parish contains the villages of Langore, Truscott, Yeolmbridge, Newport, Dutson and St Stephens.
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
St Stephen by Launceston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|St Stephen by Launceston Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Launceston Phillipa Stout.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Cornwall Online Census Project for census information
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
St Stephen by Launceston in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 200-205. Date accessed: 25 March 2013
- Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.