To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Stephen Walbrook with St Benet Sherehog, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Stephen Walbrook with St Benet Sherehog

London St Stephen Walbrook with St Benet Sherehog ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Stephen Walbrook with St Benet Sherehog, London
Londonststephenwalbrook.jpg
St Stephen Walbrook
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665-6; 1800; Separate transcripts exist for St Benet Sherehog beginning 1629-31; 1639-40
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London and Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Stbenetsherehogsite.JPG

St Benet Sherehog Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1111 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London; never rebuilt
  • 1670 - united with St Stephen Walbrook Parish[1]

St Stephen Walbrook Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 600s - site of a Saxon church
  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London
  • 1670 - united with St Benet Sherehog Parish[1]
  • 1672-1680 - church rebuilt
  • 1941 - church suffered minor damage in London Blitz; later restored

1831 description[edit | edit source]

'St Stephen Walbrook with St Benet Sherehog, the church of, is situated at the north east corner of Walbrook, and is dedicated,...to the patronage of St Stephen. There is mention in ancient records of a church dedicated to the same saint, near this spot, but on the opposite side of the brook, prior to 1135. In 1432, Robert Chichelely, Mayor of London, purchased the ground now occupied by the present church and cemetery of the Grocers' Company, and the new church was finished in 1439. In 1432, Robert Whittington, Citizen and Draper, Knight of the Bath, purchased the advowson from the Duke of Bedford. From him, it passed into a family named Lee, one of whom presented to it in 1474, and afterwards gave it to the Grocers' Company in whom the patronage has remained ever since. The old church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and the present church much celebrated edifice erected [in] its place, by Sir Christopher Wren. This church is reckoned by many persons to be Wren's masterpiece...The plan is extremely simple...75 feet by 56 feet...If any doubt the excellencies of Wren as an architect of the first class, let him study and analize this javel of our art--and find fault if he will--but let him first endeavor to surpass it. This church has been repaired twice...wisely restored and preserved...but...not...improve[d]. The parish of St Benet Sherehog (which see) was united to this church after the fire of London, and these united parishes form a rectory; but as the living of St Benet's came to the crown at the dissolution of monasteries, the Lord Chancellor and the Grocers' Company present alternately. It is in the City, archdeaconry and diocese of London...'[2]

St Stephen Walbrook with St Benet Sherehog, is an ecclesiastical parish

1848 description[edit | edit source]

St Stephen Walbrook, with St. Bene't Sherehog, are parishes of the City of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Grocer's Company, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Additional Information[edit | edit source]

St Stephen Walbrook Parish was part of Walbrook Ward.

White's 1904 history of St. Stephen Walbrook church has been digitized:

  • White, J.G. History of the Ward of Walbrook in the City of London: Together with an Account of the Aldermen of the Ward and of the Two Remaining Churches, St. Stephen, Walbrook, & St. Swithin, London Stone, with Their Rectors. 1904. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Benet Sherehog parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[5][6]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[7]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[8]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[9][10][11]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[12]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[13]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Benet Sherehog Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ARCHIVE
1702-1790, 1790-1860
1716-1754, 1754-1860
1716-1849
FMP



1629-1640, 1813-1860
ANC 1 1639-1639 1639-1639 1639-1639 1639-1639 1639-1639 1639-1639
ANC Marr

1597-1921 1597-1921

ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1716-1797
1716-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1861-1874
1564-1842


St Stephen Walbrook parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Stephen Walbrook Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1557-1812
1557-1860
1557-1860
ARCHIVE
1557-1790, 1790-1860
1557-1754, 1754-1860
1557-1716, 1716-1849
FMP



1557-1757, 1813-1860
FMP Bur



1557-1860
ANC 1 1557-1812 1557-1812 1557-1812 1557-1812 1557-1812 1557-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1931 1754-1931 1813-1843 1813-1843
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1557-1797
1557-1754
1557-1716
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1557-1861, 1861-1874
1564-1842


FS Catalog PRs
1557-1954
1557-1954
1557-1954
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1640
1629-1640
1629-1640

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Clement Eastcheap.png

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Benet Sherehog, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Benet Sherehog, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Stephen, Walbrook, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/147); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Stephen, Walbrook, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Stephen, Walbrook, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Stephen, Walbrook, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Benet Sherehog, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Pancras, Soper Lane and St Benet Sherehog, Cordwainer Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Stephen, Walbrook, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/564); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1641 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Benet Sherehog, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/572); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Stephen, Walbrook, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/572); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1645-1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Benet Sherehog, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 15); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Stephen, Walbrook, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 15); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Benet Sherehog, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/584); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]

(see supplements for St Stephen Walbrook residents) 

1811 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1811 Census of St Benet Sherehog exists and is held at The British Library.[14]

1821 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1821 Census of St Benet Sherehog exists and is held at The British Library.[14]

Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Benet Sherehog fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. St Stephen Walbrook fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Stephen Walbrook residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[15] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Benet Sherehog raised tomb
St Stephen Walbrook churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Stephen Walbrook with St Benet Sherehog, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[16]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Benet Sherehog churchyard.[17]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Stephen Walbrook churchyard.[17]

Find A Grave has created a page on St Stephen Walbrook Churchyard (5+ entries).

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Stephen Walbrook
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Benet Sherehog

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  4. County and Place Records, FreeReg, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  14. 14.0 14.1 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68, 71.
  15. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  16. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  17. 17.0 17.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.