St Paul Covent Garden, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
St Paul Covent Garden

Guide to St Paul Covent Garden, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Paul Covent Garden, Middlesex
Londonstpaulcoventgarden.jpg
Londonstpaulcoventgarden
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westminster
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Strand
Registration District Strand
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History

St Paul Covent Garden, Middlesex, in Strand parliamentary division of Westminster.[1]

St. Paul, Covent Garden is a parish, in the city and liberty of Westminster. The patron is the Duke of Bedford. It is a parish in the Strand poor-law union, the Precinct of the Savoy, and the Liberty of the Rolls.[2]

Additional information:

'St Paul Covent Garden [1653], the church of, is situated on the western side of Covent Garden Market, and was erected by the Earl of Bedford, as a chapel of ease to St Martin in the Fields, for the convenience of his neighbouring tenantry, which were then much on the increase. It is in the form of a Vitruvian Tuscan temple, and was designed by Inigo Jones. it 1638, as appears from a manuscript in the Harleian collection at the British museum, printed in the Gentleman's Magazine of November, 1789, a dispute had arisen between the above named earl and the vicar of St Martin in the Fields, relative to the right of patronage to this newly built church, and that is was heard before the Privy Council, who determined that it should be a chapel of ease to St Martin's, till an act of parliament should be passed to make it parochial... In 1645, the precinct of Covent Garden was separated from the parish of St Martin, and made parochial, by an ordinance of the Lords and Commons, sitting at Westminster; but, being considered an illegal ordinance, an act of parliament was obtained immediately after the restoration of Charles II, in 1660, by which the patronage was vested in the Earl of Bedford and his heirs forever.

'The church was built by Inigo Jones, by direction of the earl, as a mere barn... The walls were of brick, but were cased with stone about the year 1788... In 1795, the roof and interior was consumed by fire, which have been since substantially repaired and reinstated by the late Thomas Hardwick, Esquire.

'By the before-mentioned act, the patron has the privilege of nominating one of the churchwardens, the rector another and the parishioners elect a third. The church is by the same authority, a rectory, in the county and archdeaconry of Middlesex, in the diocese of London and in the patronage of the Duke of Bedford.'[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Paul Covent Garden parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Paul Covent Garden Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1634-1900 Rate Books
1666 Hearth Tax
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Paul Covent Garden Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (47+ entries)

Poor Law

The Westminster, Poor Law and Parish Administration collection at findmypast includes:

  • 1715-1876 - St Paul, Covent Garden Workhouses
  • 1747-1898 - St Paul, Covent Garden Examinations

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Covent GardenSt Paul in GENUKI

References

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 January 2014.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 December 2013.
  3. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London (London, 1831). Adapted.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk