St Paul's Cathedral, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Paul's Cathedral

St Paul's Cathedral in London ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Paul's Cathedral, London
St Paul's Cathedral, St Paul's Churchyard.jpg
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union Not Applicable
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1697
Bishop's Transcripts: 1814
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

St Paul's Cathedral

St Paul's Cathedral Timeline

  • 604 - original church founded on this site
  • 1666 - building badly damaged in Great Fire of London
  • 1697 - rebuilding of Cathedral completed

St. Paul's Cathedral.—The original St-Paul's cathedral, on the same site as the present, was built in 604, by Ethelbert, uncle of King Sebert; and was burnt to the ground in 1087. A second cathedral, on the same site, was founded in 1087, by Bishop Maurice; was repaired in 1135, it was completely destroyed by the great fire.[1]

Resources

Church records

St Paul's Cathedral parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
GOOGLE = Google Books - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[3][4]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[10]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
St Paul's Cathedral Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1708-1897
1697-1896
1760-1899
GOOGLE
1875-1897
1697-1758
1783-1899
FMP



1766-1853
FMP Bur



1760-1871
ANC 1 1697-1754, 1786-1807 1697-1754, 1786-1807 1697-1754, 1786-1807 1697-1754, 1786-1807 1697-1754, 1786-1807 1697-1754, 1786-1807
ANC 2 1879-1913 1879-1913

1817-1833 1817-1833
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1681-1897
1697-1896
1755-1899
BOYD

1538-1850


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Clay published St Paul's Cathedral marriages (1697-1754) and funerals (1760-1899).[11] Free digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.

Census

Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Tombs at St Paul's Cathedral

A survey of tombs in St Paul's Cathedral, published 1614, is Holland's Monumenta Sepulchraria Sancti Pauli.

St Paul's Cathedral monumental inscriptions are included in a 1631 national survey (updated through 1767), which is available online.[12]

A survey of tombs in St. Paul's Cathedral, published 1633, is Ecclesia Sancti Pauli Illustrata, &c.

Transcripts of early St Paul's Cathedral, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

A survey of the tombs and monumental inscriptions at St Paul's Cathedral, published in 1684, is available online.[14]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Paul's Cathedral churchyard.[15]

Sinclair's survey of memorials at St Paul's Cathedral, published in 1909, is available online.[16]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Christ Church Newgate Street.png

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Paul's Cathedral

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales (1872) Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
  2. County and Place Records, FreeReg, accessed 22 April 2019.
  3. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:29.
  12. John Weever, Ancient Funeral Monuments in Great Britain etc. (1631; reprint, London: W. Tooke, 1767). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Payne Fisher, The Tombs, Monuments, etc., Visible in S. Paul's Cathedral (and S. Faith's Beneath It) Previous to Its Destruction by Fire, A.D. 1666 (1684; reprint, 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  15. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  16. William Macdonald Sinclair, Memorials of St. Paul's Cathedral (London: Chapman and Hall, 1909).