To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy

London St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy, London
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for St Martin Pomeroy beginning 1539 and for Mercers' Hall beginning 1640
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-31; 1800; Separate records exist for St Martin Pomeroy beginning 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

"St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy, the church of, stands on the west side of Old Jewry, is of very ancient foundation, and was originally called St Olave Upwell, from its patron saint, and the well at the east... It was afterwards called Jewry, from its vicinity tbe coming the alotted residence of the Jews in London. The parish is ancient, and was a rectory, in the gift of the Dean and Chapter of St Pauls, till about the year 1181, when it was transferred by them, with the chapel of St Stephen Coleman Street, to the prior and convent of Butley, in Suffolk, when it became a vicarage. At the suppression of the monasteries, the impropriation was forfeited to the crown, in whom it has continued till the present time. After the fire of London the parish of St Martin Pomery, in Ironmonger Lane, was united to this parish, which being a rectory, also in the patronage of the crown, the presentation the united livings in the king--[see St Martin Pomery]."[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Martin Pomeroy Parish united with St Olave Old Jewry Parish.[2]

1848 description

St. Olave, Old Jewy, with St. Martin, Ironmonger-lane, are parishes of the city of London With the Walls. The patron is the Crown. They are parishes within the Poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

St Martin Pomeroy was also known as St Martin Pomary Ironmonger Lane.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Martin Pomeroy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Martin Pomeroy Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1813-1847
ANC 1 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812
ANC 2 1813-1818, 1830-1878 1813-1818, 1830-1878

1813-1817, 1822 1813-1817, 1822
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1539-1812, 1800-1874
1539-1647


FS Catalog PRs
1539-1885
1539-1885
1539-1885
FS Catalog BTs
1812-1858
1812-1858
1812-1858

St Olave Old Jewry parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Olave Old Jewry Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1754-1850
FMP Bur



1538-1812
ANC 1 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1818, 1827-1867 1813-1818, 1827-1867 1755-1886 1755-1886 1814-1840 1814-1840
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1748, 1749-1874
1538-1754, 1754-1875


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1886
1538-1886
1538-1886
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1858
1629-1858
1629-1858

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists
[edit | edit source]

St Margaret Lothbury.png

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin Pomeroy, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Olave, Old Jewry, Coleman Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin Pomeroy, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Olave, Old Jewry, Coleman Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Olave, Old Jewry, Coleman Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/513); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1666 Destroyed Houses[edit | edit source]

1678 Poll Tax[edit | edit source]

1692 Poll Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1693 Poll Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1694 Poll Tax[edit | edit source]

1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


1695 Marriage Duty Tax[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Martin Pomeroy churchyard

Transcripts of early St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[12]

A cemetery survey, published in 1887, is available online.[13]

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Olave Old Jewry
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Martin Pomeroy

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  13. Frederick Arthur Crisp, Monumental Inscriptions in the Church of St. Olaves, Jewry, London (F.A. Crisp, 1887). Digitised by Internet Archive.