To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Olave Hart Street, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Olave Hart Street

London St Olave Hart Street ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Olave Hart Street, London
St Olave Hart Street
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1665-66; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1200s - first mentioned
  • ~1450 - present church building built
  • 1941 - church bombed during London Blitz
  • 1954 - church restored

1831 description[edit | edit source]

"St Olave Hart Street, the church of, is situated on the south side of Hart Street, Crutched Friars and derives its name and addition from being dedicated to St Olave or Olaus, King of Norway, who, from his strong attachment to the christian religion, took part with the Christian English, against the pagan Danes. A church stood on this site, dedicated to the same patron, before the year 1319, The present church."[1]

1848 description

St. Olave Hart-street, withSt. Martin, Ironmonger-lane, are pare parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Parishioners. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Additional jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

St Olave Hart Street Parish was part of Tower Ward and Aldgate Ward.

Published histories[edit | edit source]

A history was published in 1894:

  • Povah, Alfred. The Annals of the Parishes of St. Olave, Hart Street, and Allhallows Staining, in the City of London. Blades East & Blades, 1894. Digitized by Internet Archive.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Olave Hart Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[11]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[12]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Olave Hart Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1563-1700
1563-1700
1563-1700
ARCHIVE
1563-1700
1563-1700
1563-1700
FMP



1754-1853
FMP Bur



1563-1852
ANC 1 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1931 1754-1931 1813-1851 1813-1851
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1563-1700
1563-1700
1563-1700
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1563-1701, 1701-1800, 1801-1874
1563-1876, 1754-1776


FS Catalog PRs
1563-1899
1563-1899
1563-1899
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1631, 1665-1666
1629-1631, 1665-1666
1629-1631, 1665-1666

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Olave, Hart Street, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Dunstan in the East, All Hallows Barking, St Olave, Hart Street, and All Hallows Staining, Tower Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Olave, Hart Street, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1589 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Books Online

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Olave, Hart Street, Tower Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/501); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
All Hallows Barking.png

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Olave, Hart Street, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/549); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Olave Hart Street, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/616); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]

(see supplements).


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Olave Hart Street, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[13] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Londonstolavehartstreetcemetery.jpg

Transcripts of early St Olave Hart Street, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[14]

A survey of monumental brasses, published 1891, is available online.[15]

A cemetery survey, published in 1894, is available online.[16]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Olave Hart Street churchyard.[17]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Olave Hart Street

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  3. County and Place Records, FreeReg, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  14. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  15. Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.
  16. Alfred Povah, The Annals of the Parishes of St. Olave, Hart Street, and Allhallows Staining, in the City of London (Blades East and Blades, 1894). Digitized by Internet Archive.
  17. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.