St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave

London St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave, London
Londonstnicholascoleabbey.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for St Nicholas Olave beginning 1704
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639-40; 1665-66; 1800; Separate records exist for St Nicholas Olave beginning 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

"St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave, the church of, is situated on the south side of Old Fish Street, Doctors' Commons...  There was a church on the same site prior to 1377...when it was rebuilt. The church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and the present church built by Sir Christopher Wren.  It was finished in 1677, and is the first church built and completed after the fire.  The church is a rectory, the advowson of which was anciently in the dean and chapter of St. Martin Le Grand; but on grant of that collegiate church to the abbot and canons of Westminster, the patronage devolved to that convent, in whom it continued till the dissolution of their monastery, when it devolved to the crown, in which patronage it is present.  After the great fire, the parish of St. Nicholas Olaves [see that church] was united to this, which is a rectory of very ancient foundation.. the united rectory is in the city, diocese and Archdeaconry of London, and the advowson is, from the before named Union of parishes, in the alternate gifts of Lord Chancellor, for the crown and again and chapter of St. Paul's."[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Nicholas Cole Abbey Parish united with St Nicholas Olave Parish.[2]


1848 parish description

St. Nicholas Cole Abbey with St. Nicholas Olave, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, alternately. They are within the Poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

These parishes were part of Queenhithe Ward.

Resources

Church records

St Nicholas Cole Abbey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Nicholas Cole Abbey Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1754-1851
FMP Bur



1538-1812
ANC 1 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1931 1754-1931 1814-1845 1814-1845
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1747, 1748-1874
1584-1753, 1755-1885


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1964
1538-1964
1538-1964
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1640
1639-1640
1639-1640

St Nicholas Olave parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Nicholas Olave Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1704-1852
ANC 1 1704-1812 1704-1812 1704-1812 1704-1812 1704-1812 1704-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1814-1836 1814-1836 1814-1850 1814-1850
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1704-1812, 1813-1871
1813-1836


FS Catalog PRs
1704-1851
1704-1851
1704-1851

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

St Benet Pauls Wharf.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Olave, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey and St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, and St Mary Mounthaw, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Olave, and St Mildred, Bread Street, and Holy Trinity the Less, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Nicholas Olave, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1636 Rents

  • St. Nicholas Cole Abbey, 1638 Rents (Lambeth Palace Library, Ref: Mss. Codex No. 272); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.

1645-1646 Subsidy

  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 2); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists

(see supplements).


Civil Registration

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

Transcripts of early St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[12]

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Nicholas Olave
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Nicholas Cole Abbey

References

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.