To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses

London St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses, London
Londonstmildredbreadstreet.jpg
St Mildred Bread Street
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754; Separate registers exist for St Margaret Moses beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-31; 1639-40; 1800; Separate records exist for St Margaret Moses beginning 1665-66; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division) and Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Margaret Moses church site

St Margaret Moses Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London
  • 1666 - church never rebuilt; united with St Mildred Bread Street Parish[1]

St Mildred Bread Street Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • ~1300 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London
  • 1666 - united with St Margaret Moses Parish[1]
  • 1677-1683 - church rebuilt
  • 1941 - church bombed; demolished

1831 description[edit | edit source]

"St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses, the church of, stands on the east side of Bread Street and is so called from its situation from being dedicated to Mildred, a saint, daughter of Merwaldus, and to Penda, King of Mercians, who consecrated abbess of a monastery in the Isle of Thanet... It is a rectory, founded and built by Lord Trenchant, of St Alban's, about the year 1300, and enlarged in 1428,... [with a] vestry room, and church yard, to the parishioners, and a parsonage house to the rector. The old church was burned down in 1666, and rebuilt in 1683, by Sir Christopher Wren. The advowson of this church was anciently in the Prior and Canons of St Mary Overy, but it afterwards came into the family of Sir Nicholas Crispe and is now in private hands. After the fire of London, the parish of St Margaret  Moses (see that church), was united to it by act of parliament; which church, after many changes from 1105,...till the suppression of that convent, by Edward III, as an  alien Priory, fell to the crown, in whose patronage it has continued to this day.

"These united parishes are a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London..."[2]

1848 parish description[edit | edit source]


St. Mildred, Bread-street, with St. Margaret Moses, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Queen, and W. Storketh, Esq., alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Additional jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

St Mildred Bread Street and St Margaret Moses parishes were part of Bread Street Ward. St Margaret Moses Parish was also known as St Margaret Moses Friday Street Parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Mildred Bread Street and St Margaret Moses were originally two parishes. Each maintained separate parish registers.

St Margaret Moses parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[5][6]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[7]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[8]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[9][10][11]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[12]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[13]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Margaret Moses Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1559-1836
1558-1836
1558-1850
ARCHIVE
1559-1836
1558-1836
1558-1850
FMP



1558-1850
FMP Bur



1529-1850
ANC 1 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
ANC 2 1813-1842 1813-1842 1813-1842 1813-1842 1813-1842 1813-1842
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1559-1836
1558-1832
1558-1850
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1559-1836
1558-1839


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1850
1538-1850
1538-1850
FS Catalog BTs
1665-1666
1665-1666
1665-1666

St Mildred Bread Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Mildred Bread Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1658-1837
1670-1837
1670-1853
ARCHIVE
1658-1837
1670-1837
1670-1853
FMP



1629-1853
FMP Bur



1587-1853
ANC 1 1629-1631, 1800-1812 1629-1631, 1800-1812 1629-1631, 1800-1812 1629-1631, 1800-1812 1629-1631, 1800-1812 1629-1631, 1800-1812
ANC 2 1813-1838 1813-1838 1754-1838 1754-1838 1813-1846 1813-1846
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1657-1837
1672-1836
1670-1853
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1659-1837
1670-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1754-1853
1754-1853
1754-1853
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1842
1629-1842
1629-1842

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

St James Garlickhithe.png

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Margaret Moses, Friday Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Margaret Moses, Friday Street, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Olave, and St Mildred, Bread Street, and Holy Trinity the Less, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1589 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Books Online

1610 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St. Mildred, Bread St. (The National Archives, Ref: E179/146/470); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Margaret Moses, Friday Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645-1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 2); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Mildred Bread Street Parish fell under the jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of London. St Margaret Moses Parish fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Margaret Moses residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[14] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

In 1898 many bodies were disinterred from St Mildred Bread Street Churchyard and removed to Brookwood Cemetery.[15]

Transcripts of early St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[16]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mildred, Bread Street
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Margaret Moses

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and Its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. County and Place Records, FreeReg, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  14. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  15. J.M. Clark, The Brookwood Necropolis Railway (2006); Wikipedia Contributors, "St Mildred, Bread Street," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Mildred,_Bread_Street, accessed 18 January 2012.
  16. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.