To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining

London St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining, London
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for St Mary Staining beginning 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639-40; 1800; Separate records exist for St Mary Staining beginning 1629-31; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division) Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Stmichaelwoodstreetsite.JPG
Stmarystainingsite.JPG

"St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining, the church of, is situated on the west side of Wood Street, Cheapside. The original church is of some antiquity, [as early as]...1328. The old church was destoryed by the common conflagration of 1666, and the present church was erected a few years after from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. The neighbouring church of St Mary Staining was also destroyed at the same time, and the parish was united to this act of parliament. The patronage of this rectory was anciently in the abbot and convent of St Albans, till the suppression of the religious houses by Henry VIII, who sold it to WIlliam Barwell, who in 1558 conveyed it to the trustees for the parishioners, in which it still remains. After the fire of London, the adjacent parish of St Mary Staining was united to it by act of parliament; the patronage of which devolving to the crown after the Reformation, it is now in the gift of the Lord Chancellor, and the united rectory is presented to alternately by his Lordship and the parishioners. The united parishes are now a rectory in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in before mentioned patronage."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Mary Staining Parish united with St Michael Wood Street Parish.[2]


1848 parish description
St. Michael, Wood-street with St. Mary Staining are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Parishioners, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Part of Aldersgate Ward.


Both churches have been demolished.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Mary Staining parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Mary Staining Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1629-1631, 1813-1820
ANC 1 1629-1630, 1673-1812 1629-1630, 1673-1812 1629-1630, 1673-1812 1629-1630, 1673-1812 1629-1630, 1673-1812 1629-1630, 1673-1812
ANC 2 1813-1820 1813-1820 1813-1820 1813-1820 1813-1820 1813-1820
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1673-1812




FS Catalog PRs
1673-1813
1673-1813
1673-1813
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1631
1629-1631
1629-1631

St Michael Wood Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Michael Wood Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1813-1820
ANC 1 1559-1662, 1678-1812 1559-1662, 1678-1812 1559-1662, 1678-1812 1559-1662, 1678-1812 1559-1662, 1678-1812 1559-1662, 1678-1812
ANC 2

1756-1815 1756-1815

ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1559-1856
1801-1811


FS Catalog PRs
1559-1815
1559-1815
1559-1815
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1802
1629-1802
1629-1802

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

"Christenings 1663-c1895, Marriages 1674-1754, 1813-1895, Burials 1813-c1853 destroyed by enemy action, 1940, but see coverage of marriages in Boyd and Pallot indexes." Bishop's transcripts for eighteenth-century christenings have also been lost.[11]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Stmichaelwoodstreet.png

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Staining, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/137); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael, Wood Street, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Staining, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/224); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1589 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Books Online

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Staining, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Michael, Wood Street, Cripplegate Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 5); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1667 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Staining, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Michael, Wood Street, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]

(St Michael Wood Street residents) 

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. St Mary Staining also fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Mary Staining residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[12] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Londonstmarystainingcemetery.jpg

Transcripts of early St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Mary Staining churchyard.[14]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Michael Wood Street
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Staining

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Internet Archive.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Cliff Webb, London and Middlesex (London: Society of Genealogists Ltd., 1995), 30. FHL Book 942 D27ste v. 9 pt. 5
  12. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.