To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry

London St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry, London
Londonstmichaelscollegehill.jpg
St Michael Royal
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for St Martin Vintry beginning 1617
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799; Separate records exist for St Martin Vintry beginning 1629-31; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham and Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Martin Vintry church site

"St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry,the church of, stands on the eastern side of College Hill, Upper Thames Street. It derives its name from its patron saint and from its contguity to the Tower Royal, that stood anciently at the upper or northern end of College Hill. It was a spacious, strongly fortified and magnificent mansion, belonging to the kings of England and supposed to have been founded by Henry I. The church... has been a rectory from a very ancient date, and the patronage was in the prior and Canon's of Canterbury as early as 1285... Field church was pulled down and rebuilt in 1410, when my license from Henry IV, it was made collegiate of the Holy Spirit and St. Mary... Contiguous to this new College, which gave its name to its site, he also erected and founded an alms house, which he called "God's house" (hence the addition Paternoster), or" hospital" for the accommodation of 13 persons... [see Mercer's Alms Houses and Whittington College]


"[This church is] one of the 13 peculiars within the city, belonging to the Archbishop of that see. The ancient church, college and alms houses, were all consumed by the great fire of 1666, and the present edifice erected in its stead, by Sir Christopher Wren in 1694.  It was made parochial for this parish and for that of St. Martin's Vintry, the church of which was also destroyed by the same fire and the two parishes united by an act of parliament [see St. Martin Vintry].

"The spacious and well proportioned church is a fine piece of construction and well wrought masonry...  The interior is a large capacious all...; is 86 feet long, 48 broad, and 40 high, and lighted by a series of lofty semicircular edit windows.  These united parishes form one rectory, in the city of London, in the province of Canterbury, and as one of the 13 peculiars of that see, within the city, is exempt from archidiaconal jurisdiction.  They are under the patronage of the Archbishop of Canterbury for St. Michael Royal and of the Bishop of Worcester...  For St. Martin Vintry."[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Martin Vintry Parish united with St Michael Paternoster Royal Parish.[2]

1848 parish description
St. Michael Pater-noster Royal with St. Martin Vintry, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury, and the Bishop of Worcester, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

These parishes were part of Vintry Ward. St Michael Royal also belonged to Dowgate Ward. It was also known as St Michael Paternoster Parish, as well as St Michael Paternoster Royal Parish.

St Martin Vintry Parish Church has been demolished.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Martin Vintry parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Martin Vintry Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1629-1850
FMP Bur



1539-1812
ANC 1 1617-1812 1617-1812 1617-1812 1617-1812 1617-1812 1617-1812
ANC 2 1813-1867 1813-1867 1813-1836 1813-1836 1813-1847 1813-1847
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1617-1731, 1719-1874
1617-1724, 1813-1836


FS Catalog PRs
1664-1906
1664-1906
1664-1906
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1837
1629-1837
1629-1837

St Michael Royal parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Michael Royal Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1754-1850
FMP Bur



1563-1811
ANC 1 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1931 1754-1931 1813-1847 1813-1847
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1558-1729, 1743-1812, 1813-1837
1743-1883


FS Catalog PRs
1558-1975
1558-1975, 1558-1837
1558-1975
FS Catalog BTs
1813-1837
1813-1837
1813-1837

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1850.[12]

Census records[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Clement Eastcheap.png
  • St Martin, Vintry, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/157); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael Paternoster Royal, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/157); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin, Vintry, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael Paternoster Royal, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin, Vintry, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/504); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Michael Paternoster Royal, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/504); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin, Vintry, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/543); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Michael Paternoster Royal, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/543); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin Vintry, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 8); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Michael Paternoster Royal, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/587); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Martin Vintry Parish are available online.


Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (St Martin Vintry Parish) and the Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, Shoreham (St Michael Royal Parish). From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry for both places.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Michael Paternoster churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Martin Vintry churchyard.[14]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Michael Paternoster Royal churchyard.[14]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Martin Vintry Parish the unique surname Vintry.[15]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Michael Paternoster Royal
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Martin Vintry

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. 14.0 14.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  15. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.