To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less

London St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less, London
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; Separate registers exist for Holy Trinity the Less beginning 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639-40; 1665-66; 1800; Separate records exist for Holy Trinity the Less beginning 1629-31; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

"St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less, the church of, named from its saint and situation, stands on the north side of opportunities street, opposite Queenhithe; which was formerly called Cornhithe, as all the corn brought from the western parts of the country was landed here.  The earliest mention of this church was under the name of St. Michael de Corn hill in 1181, and we find that in 1404, [it was] left [as] part of [an] estate to found [a] charity within its walls.  The ancient Church having been destroyed by the fire of London, the present structure was erected instead by Sir Christopher Wren in 1677.  The advowson of this church has been... in the Dean and chapter of St. Paul's. On its rebuilding after the great fire the parish of Trinity the Less was united to it by act of Parliament [see Trinity the Less] and the patronage of the latter being in the Dean and chapter of Canterbury, they present to the United directory alternately.  It is in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the above named patronage."[1]

"Trinity the Less, the church of, was situated before the fire of London, at the northeast corner of Little Trinity Lane, where a German Chapel now stands. It received the epithet "the Less" to distinguish it from the Trinity priory at Aldgate; but having been destroyed by the fire of 1666, the parish was united to that of St Michael Queenhithe, and the church was not rebuilt."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), Holy Trinity the Less Parish united with St Michael Queenhithe Parish.[2]

1848 parish description
St. Michael, Queen-hythe, with Trinity the Less, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s, and the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

These parishes were part of Queenhithe Ward. Holy Trinity the Less Parish was also part of Vintry Ward. The parish name was also spelled St Michael Queen Hythe.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Holy Trinity the Less parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Holy Trinity the Less Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1808-1852
ANC 1 1547-1812 1547-1812 1547-1812 1547-1812 1547-1812 1547-1812
ANC 2 1813-1836 1813-1836 1756-1823 1756-1823 1813-1849 1813-1849
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1547-1716, 1669-1841




FS Catalog PRs
1547-1875
1547-1875
1547-1875
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1819
1639-1819
1639-1819

St Michael Queenhithe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Michael Queenhithe Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1639-1852
ANC 1 1653-1812 1653-1812 1653-1812 1653-1812 1653-1812 1653-1812
ANC 2 1813-1875 1813-1875 1754-1795, 1813-1875 1754-1795, 1813-1875 1813-1849 1813-1849
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1651-1711, 1704-1860
1653-1711


FS Catalog PRs
1653-1876
1653-1876
1653-1876
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1812, 1665-1666
1639-1812, 1665-1666
1639-1812, 1665-1666

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

St James Garlickhithe.png

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • Holy Trinity the Less, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • Holy Trinity the Less, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael Queenhithe, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Michael Queenhithe, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Olave and St Mildred, Bread Street, and Holy Trinity the Less, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • Holy Trinity the Less, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/504); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • Holy Trinity the Less, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • Holy Trinity the Less, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/543); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Michael Queenhithe, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • Holy Trinity the Less, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/587); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • Holy Trinity the Less, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/584); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]

(see also supplements) 

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[11] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Michael churchyard wall

Transcripts of early St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[12]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Michael Queenhithe churchyard.[13]

Find A Grave has a page about Holy Trinity the Less Church monumental inscriptions.


Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Michael Queenhithe Parish the unique surname Queenhithe.[14]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Michael Queenhithe
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Holy Trinity the Less

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  12. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  13. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.