To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Michael Bassishaw, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Michael Bassishaw

London St Michael Bassishaw ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michael Bassishaw, London
Londonstmichaelbassishaw.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-31; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

"St Michael Bassishaw, the church of, stands on the western side of Basinghall Street, and derives its  name from its dedication to St Michael the Archangel, and its addition from Basing's Haw or hall [See Basingahll Street)]. The ancient church was originally founded in the year 1140, and was then in the patronage of the prior and canons of St Bartholomew, in Smithfield. [From] about 1430, it fell to the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's in whose patronage it has continued...

"The old church, which was a beautiful specimen of the ecclesiastical architecture of our ancestors, was entirely destroyed by the fire of London, and the present building was erected in its stead, from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. It is a plain and useful structure, of brick and stone, of no very striking character. The church is a rectory in the city, diocese and arhcdeaconry of London and in the patronage of the Deans and canons of St Paul's."[1]

St. Michael Bassishaw Parish was part of Bassishaw Ward.

1848 parish description
St. Michael, Bassishaw is a parish, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]


Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Michael Bassishaw parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[3][4]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[5]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[6][7][8]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Michael Bassishaw Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1813-1853
ANC 1 1538-1735 1538-1735 1538-1735 1538-1735 1538-1735 1538-1735
ANC 2 1813-1892 1813-1892 1755-1892 1755-1892 1813-1845 1813-1845
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1539-1874
1538-1880


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1892
1538-1892
1538-1892
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1837
1629-1837
1629-1837

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Publications of the Harleian Society Parish Register Series published the parish registers from 1538 to 1735.[10]

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1853.[11]

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • Bassishaw Ward (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/138), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Michael Bassishaw, Bassishaw Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1589 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Stephen Coleman Street.png

FamilySearch Books Online

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Michael Bassishaw, Bassishaw Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/488); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Michael Bassishaw, Bassishaw Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/548); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1641 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Michael Bassishaw, Bassishaw Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/566); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Michael Bassishaw, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[12] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Londonstmichaelbassishawcemetery.jpg
Transcripts of early St Michael Bassishaw, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Michael Bassishaw Parish the unique surname Bassishaw.[14]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Michael Bassishaw

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  3. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:28.
  11. Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  12. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.