St Mewan, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to St Mewan, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Mewan, Cornwall|
St Mark's Mission Church, Sticker Cornwall
|Poor Law Union||St Austell|
|Registration District||St Austell|
|Parish registers: 1693|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MEWAN, ST., a parish, in the union of St. Austell, E. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 1 mile (W. by S.) from St. Austell. 
An Anglican church was designed by the architect George Edmund Street in 1848/49, but was presumably never built. The current St Mark's Mission Church was designed by James Piers St Aubyn and opened in 1877. St Mark's is effectively a chapel of ease for the parish church at St Mewan.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
St Mewan parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|St Mewan Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for St Mewan.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
St Mewan in GENUKI
http://www.achurchnearyou.com/st-mewan-st-mewan/ for information about the parish
http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-71432-church-of-st-mewan-st-mewan British Listed building
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 25 March 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.